July and August ’15 Wrap Up

In the last week of July, I started working as a camp counselor so because of that I didn’t really get a chance to finish the books I was reading, let alone film and post a video discussing my wrap up. In August, I was supposed to stay with the camp the entire month in one of our new locations but I got super sick and got sent back home. So obviously now I had the time to finish the left over books from July as well as any that I had my eye on recently, such as books for review.

Here’s what I read in July:

How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True
by Sarah Strohmeyer
How Zoe Made Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book. It was cute and compact. Definitely not the greatest contemporary I’ve ever read, but it was sweet and fluffy. It had some really funny anecdotes and moments as well as characters and situations. And it ended in a happy ending, and who doesn’t love that?

Just Listen
by Sarah Dessen
Just Listen Cover

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the first Sarah Dessen book I’ve ever read and to be honest I was a bit apprehensive about the content. I’ve heard a lot of great things about her and her writing and her books are absolutely everywhere but I was still a little unsure about whether I’d enjoy it or not. Obviously, I had no reason to worry. I absolutely loved this book. Very moving and emotional, without making you feel dragged down. I really liked the characters and their development and it just made me want to continue reading from her repertoire.

Champion (Legend #3)
by Marie Lu

champion.indd

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

 I started the Legend trilogy way back in April and after the ending of Prodigy, it was like pulling teeth to get started on Champion. I did not want to read it, at all. But I cannot leave a series unfinished, so I finally buckled down and got to it. It was okay. Definitely not as mind blowing or angst ridden or heart breaking as everyone says it is, but maybe that’s just because I did not like the way the main character’s relationship was going way back in book two. This series was not for me.
Series Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Soulless (Parasol Protectorate #1)
by Gail Carriger

Print

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I read this book as part of my monthly book club with my friends Gervan and Abby (you’ll probably hear about them every single month, fyi). I absolutely loved this book! I’ve been wanting to try Steampunk for awhile and this series has been in the forefront of my mind as the first to try. I had no idea it was adult until I started reading, but it is hilarious, sexy, full of adventure and mystery. Everything I was expecting and more.

The Truth About Forever
by Sarah Dessen

The Truth About Forever Cover

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I almost want to make it official: I love Sarah Dessen. I don’t know what it was about these two books I read but they were exactly what I needed. They were very similar but at the same time not. Both deal with heavy subjects in a way that doesn’t make you feel bogged down by it and I think that’s what I love most about her writing style. Her books make you feel deeply about whatever is going on but not enough to cripple you. I can’t wait to read more from her.

Now onto what I managed to read in August:

The Ring and The Crown
by Melissa de la Cruz

The Ring and The Crown Cover

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

 I had some interest in this book after Lainey from gingerreadslainey on YouTube read and reviewed it, and since I got it for my TBR for July I decided to give it a go. Obviously, I wasn’t able to finish it then so I worked to finish it in August. I’m going to be honest and say I expected a lot more from it. The beginning was very slow and it felt like it dragged on a lot. I didn’t understand why we needed to know so much background before the story could start. Until the story started and then everything made sense. Maybe past the half way point was when everything started to build up and it pulled me in like no other. But it was a little late in the game hence the rating. Either way I’m still looking forward to reading the next installment.

Pretty Little Liars
by Sara Shepard

Pretty Little Liars Cover

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I’ve been really interested in reading this series but at the same time really apprehensive, since you know, it’s super super super long. But I decided to bite the bullet and at least try the first book. It was not what I expected. I think because I’ve seen the first season of the series I was expecting things to be similar, and they were and weren’t at the same time. I could see a lot of the scenes that played out in the show in my head and also things that were changed. Unfortunately, that really distracted me and I didn’t feel as connected to the plot as I normally would have. Either way, I still enjoyed it but it wasn’t mind blowing. I’m going to continue with the series but it’s not in my immediate future.

Snow Like Ashes
by Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes Cover

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

This is the last of my “leftover from July” books which I just finished recently and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. I had heard a lot of great things about it, a lot of hype in general but it made me more apprehensive than excited to dive into it and I am really happy that I did end up enjoying it. The world was very intricate, the magic system was unique and  the characters were all very interesting. I didn’t connect as much to them as I was hoping to but the plot itself really pulled me in. I’ll be sharing a review at some point this month.

Everything, Everything
by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything Cover

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I got an eARC from NetGalley a long long time ago and I must admit that I forgot about until last month when I checked my page and realized I had a few books to read and review before they were released, this book being one of them. I heard a lot of great things about it from various booktuber and Goodreads friends and I was really anxious to see how it would turn out. I loved it! It was new and interesting. There were drawings and emails and IMs as well as writing and it made it a unique reading experience. Hopefully, I’ll be posting a review for this soon.

So that’s all I managed to read the last two months. Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them. Thanks so much for reading and see you soon!

XOXO

Sara

Leave a Reply

