September ’15 TBR – Steampunk Theme

If you’ve watched my channel before you know two things about me when it comes to TBRs: 1. Every month has a new theme, whether its a genre, type of character, or even author names. And 2. I am a huge overachiever and they’re usually really really long. I have this insane idea that if I put as many books on my TBR as possible by some miracle, i’ll push myself to read them and eventually accomplish my goal. Sometimes it works, most of the time it doesn’t but either way, this month is no different.

As you can tell from the title, this month’s theme is Steampunk! I mentioned in my last wrap up that I’ve been interested in it for awhile so I decided to dive in this month.

Here are the books I’m hoping to read this month:

First Order of Business:
These Shallow Graves
by Jennifer Donnelly

These Shallow Graves Cover

I got an e-ARC of this book via NetGalley a few months ago and it comes out on October 27th so it’s about time I open it at least. I’ve read the first two books in JD’s Waterfire Saga and enjoyed them but wasn’t blown away. This is a completely different type of book and I’m pretty interested to find out how it turns out.

Goodreads

TBR Jar Pick:
The Sin Eater’s Daughter
by Melinda Salisbury

The Sin Eater's Daughter Cover

Every month I take out a little slip of paper from my TBR Jar which has all of the first books in series I want to start and this is the pick for September! I’m actually really excited to read this one. It’s one of my most anticipated releases of the year but since it’s release I haven’t picked it up. This gives me the perfect excuse to do so!

Goodreads

Monthly Book Club:
The Fixer
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Fixer Cover

My lovely friend Abby had the task of picking our book this month and we all ended up having this one on our to be read lists on Goodreads. This is a new release of this year and we’re all really excited to get started on it. I haven’t read any JLB since I read Raised by Wolves a millennia ago so I’m really interest to see how this type of story will come across with her writing.

Goodreads

 Parasol Protectorate Series #2, #3, #4, #5
Changeless, Blameless, Heartless and Timeless
by Gail Carriger

Changeless CoverBlameless Cover  Heartless CoverTimeless Cover

I started this series in July as part of the Monthly book club and fell completely in love with it. I could not help myself and put the rest of it at the very very top of my list for this month and I am extremely hopeful that I’ll be able to get to all of them.

Goodreads

Inamorata
by Megan Chance

Inamorata Cover

I am going to be completely honest here by saying that the main reason this is on my TBR is because of the cover. I have a very slim idea of that this is about and to be honest I don’t really care. There’s times where you just have to dive into a book completely blind and hope for the best.

Goodreads

Steampunk Chronicles #.5, #1, #2, #2.5, #3, #3.5, #4
The Strange Case of Finley Jayne, The Girl in the Steel Corset, The Girl in the Clockwork Collar, The Dark Discovery of Jack Dandy, The Girl with the Iron Touch, The Wild Adventure of Jasper Renn and The Girl with the Windup Heart
by Kady Cross

The Strange Case of Finley Jayne Cover  The Girl in the Steel Corset Cover The Girl in the Clockwork Collar Cover

The Dark Discovery of Jack Dandy Cover The Girl with the Iron Touch Cover   The Wild Adventure of Jasper Renn Cover The Girl with the Windup Heart Cover

Yes, I know. It’s a lot. But in my defense, this is the second Steampunk series I ever discovered and since then, I’ve been dying to read it! Plus there’s three novellas which don’t take as long to read, so I might be able to pull it off. For future reference, usually if the author has written a novella in a series, I’m going to try and read it. There’s a reason they wrote it, so there’s a reason I should read it.

Goodreads

Steel Lily
by Megan Curd

Steel Lily Cover

Something else to know about me: I like to read free ebooks from Amazon every once in awhile. This is one of them. I do not remember when I got it but it’s been on my mind since then. Yep, another case of cover lust. And on top of it the synopsis sounds very interesting. I haven’t had the best of luck with free ebooks and their contents lately but hopefully this will be better.

Goodreads

Born of Illusion Duology #1, #1.5, #2
by Teri Brown
Born of Illusion, Born of Corruption and Born of Deception

Born of Illusion CoverBorn of Corruption Cover Born of Deception Cover

This one is incredibly intriguing. It’s about the “supposed” illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini who helps her mother fake readings and seances in 1920’s New York. Doesn’t that sound incredible?! Later, she apparently gets actual powers of divination and crazy shit happens. The 20s is one of my favorite eras in history and I love anything to do with magic, mediums, mentalists and things like that. I put it toward the end of the month but I’m really hoping to be able to get to it.

Goodreads

And last but not least

Ripper
by Stefan Petrucha

Ripper Cover

This is a stand alone that sort of kind of seems like a retelling of the infamous Jack the Ripper. One of it’s genres isn’t retelling, but the way the synopsis describes it is following a young detective in search of his biological father who gets involved in trying to catch Jack the Ripper. It sounds really cool but I’m not dying to read it, so if I don’t end up getting this far into my TBR, I’ll be okay.

Goodreads

So that’s all folks! Let me know if you have read any of these books and your thoughts on them. Fingers crossed that I’ll be able to review a few of them during the month. See you soon!

XOXO

Sara

Leave a Reply

