T5W Sep. 2nd – Fictional Cities

I am back with Top 5 Wednesday! This is one of the first series that I started on my channel and I absolutely love to do it. It’s a great community and you can definitely learn a lot from people and their reading tastes depending on their lists.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Fictional Cities. I kind of had a tough time with this one since I don’t necessarily pay attention to the cities while I am reading, I pay more attention to the world/country/kingdom and the characters. But I sat down and looked through my read shelf on Goodreads (I do this a lot when preparing for T5W) and found some places that I feel fit this topic.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Miromara from the Waterfire Saga
by Jennifer Donnelly

Deep Blue Cover

I described this book as The Little Mermaid on steroids once upon a time and the city is no exception. It’s like Atlantis but completely modernized with mermaids. Everything we have in our world is there except with an ocean twist. It’s freaking awesome!

Β #4: London from the Parasol Protectorate Series
by Gail Carriger

Print

This London in particular is one of my favorites of all time. In this series, werewolves, vampires and ghosts live openly among humans and it makes for such great dynamics between characters. They follow how civilized society behaves for their time while also following their own ways. It’s a very interesting concept.

#3: Ixia & Sitia from the Chronicles of Ixia
by Maria V. Snyder

Poison Study Cover

I know this is technically cheating since these are not series, and there are two of them but hear me out! One is not complete without the other. In this series, these are two opposing territories with completely different way of life. One is a military territory where everyone wears uniforms and the people have to live by a strict moral code. The other is a magical territory full of clans of magicians of different types and each decides to live the way they decide depending on their beliefs. I love their juxtaposition and their contrast and it makes it incredibly interesting.

#2: Rifthold from the Throne of Glass Series
by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass Cover

The Throne of Glass world is definitely one of my favorites of all time and the reason that I picked this city in particular, not only because it’s the most used, but because it’s such a filthy city. Not in the dirty way, but there’s so much darkness and ugly things going on there all the time and still so many residents are oblivious. It’s a very interesting subject.

#1: The Cavern from the Fire Wish Trilogy
by Amber Lough

The Fire Wish Cover

This is definitely my favorite fictional city ever! Not only is the description absolutely beautiful, but it’d be the coolest thing ever if it actually happened. The Cavern is where the jinnis in this story reside and as jinni they get to wish everything they want to life. Green house, with striped patterns, shimmering blue walk ways, etc andΒ  they all change in a matter of seconds! And best of all because they’re underground, there’s crystals everywhere, making the entire city shine! I wish something like that really existed.

So that’s all for my choices this week! Let me know what you think and what your choices would be. See you soon with another post!

XOXO

Sara

8 thoughts on “T5W Sep. 2nd – Fictional Cities

Leave a Reply

