T5W Sep. 9th – Favorite Things About Booktubing or Blogging

Hello everyone! It is time for another Top 5 Wednesday and I am so glad to finally be back with the #T5WFamily on a regular basis. I definitely missed talking about the topics in August so I’m glad to finally be in the swing of things again.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Things about Booktubing/Blogging. Since I only just recently started blogging, this post will be mostly about my favorite things about booktube. It took me a little while to really think up of a few things, not because there weren’t enough but because I wanted to choose my favorites of all time.

SO let’s get started!

#5: The Community

It’s not the biggest one by any means but the booktube community is such an amazing place. Mostly everyone involved in kind and welcoming and really supportive of anyone who’s giving filming videos a shot for the first time. People from all over  the world with different reading tastes come together for this one thing and it’s such a beautiful thing to be a part of.

#4: Making New Friends

This kind of goes along with my #5 but in a community that’s so open with everyone, you find yourself making friends all the time. It took me awhile to really connect one on one with other booktubers, mostly because I’m a shy person even through a computer thing, but once I did, I got to meet so many wonderful people. My first booktube friend was another Venezuelan named Ana and although we don’t chat as much as we used to, I know I can count on her for anything. Then I have Abby and Gervan, whom I talk about alll the time, and I love them both so much. We’re a little group of weirdos who chat every single day about anything and everything and it’s so nice to be able to not only share books with them but my life as well.

#3: Finding New Books to Read

A few months before starting my booktube channel, I found Goodreads and became absolutely obsessed with it. So much so that I have over 2,000 books on my to be read shelf and I am still adding more every day. I just love finding totally random or old or obscure book on Goodreads and wanting to dive into them. Before, I would just walk into the bookstore and work my way through shelves to see what books were around. Now, I have it all at the click of a button and it makes it so much easier to find new authors and books I’d never even heard of before.

#2: Anticipating New Releases

This goes along with my number #3. While browsing in a bookstore, you don’t really know what books are going to be in the shelves next. You just go in another day and find a whole new selection waiting for you. With booktube and Goodreads, I found the complicated and emotional experience that is waiting for a book to be published. Whether it’s one from a beloved series, or a stand alone that really caught your eye, there’s something about counting down the days to its release that is both exciting and stressful but oh so fun.

And last but not least

#1: Talking About Books

This one seems pretty obvious and simple but it really means a lot to me. My whole life I’ve wanted to find people who love books as much as I do and who like to talk about and obsess over them as much as me. Unfortunately, the majority of my friends weren’t that into books. The only friend that I can remember who held the same passion as me was a home room classmate from 8th named Emily. Once we moved on to high school, we lost touch and since then I’ve been looking for someone else to talk to. When I moved to Venezuela, I really felt the need not only because most of the people I met didn’t read as much but also because all the books I wanted to read were in English and weren’t found here. That’s why I was so excited when I discovered booktube. Here’s a huge platform, a huge community of people who spend all their time talking about books. This is my place, this is where I’ll fit in. I am so glad I made my channel and though I’m not using it at the moment, I know that I am still a part of this worldwide conversation through blogging. And there is nothing else like that.

So that’s all for my choices this week! Let me know what you thought of them. I’d love to hear your favorite things about blogging, maybe I’ll find some new favorites as well. See you next time!

XOXO

Sara

2 thoughts on “T5W Sep. 9th – Favorite Things About Booktubing or Blogging

  1. I agree with all but number 2. I personally don’t usually read a book as soon as it comes out (usually because it’s so expensive) so whilst I’ll be excited when my favourite author releases a new book, I tend to not buy it asap. But I guess for someone who does, it’s a good aspect. I totally agree with the other points. Very well explained 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

