Book Traveling Thursdays Sep. 10th – A Monster of a Book (+500 pages)

Hello all! Welcome to my first day in doing Book Traveling Thursdays! Since I started my blog I saw this meme floating around and it looked like a lot of fun. This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page. Basically what you have to do is pick a book that follows the theme for the week and explain why you chose it. Then you show the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover and your least favorite cover.

I have a huge passion for book covers. One of the main reasons I’ll pick up a book is for it’s cover and I have been known to sit and analyze a book cover for hours on end. So basically this is the perfect meme for me.

I currently live in Venezuela and unfortunately, they don’t publish the majority of the books I read here, so for my country cover, I’ll be using the American covers because I grew up there and that’s where I really started my reading in depth.

This week’s topic is a monster of a book, a book with more than five hundred pages.

SO let’s get started!

My choice is the House of Hades by Rick Riordan. My Kindle Edition is 608 pages and the reason I chose this one in particular, since all of the Heroes of Olympus books are more than 500 pages, is because I feel like this one was the most dramatic and emotional out of the whole series and when I finished it, I was dyingggg for the next book.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

The House of Hades Cover

I really like this cover. I think it portrays the Underworld really well and the colors really compliment one another. I would’ve liked it better if you could’ve seen their faces a bit more in detail but the elaborate background makes it up for it by the tons.

My Favorite Cover

The House of Hades Dutch Cover The House of Hades German Cover The House of Hades Italy Cover

My first time and I’m cheating already, so me. This is a three way tie between the Dutch, German and Italian covers. I like them all for different reasons. The Dutch cover because of the bright colors and the monster in the background but I don’t like that it’s just Percy on it and not Annabeth as well. The German cover I love because it’s purple and that’s my favorite color and because it shows the doors and the monsters getting to the world but I don’t like that none of the heroes are on the cover. And the Italian cover because it looks really badass to be honest. It’s not as bright as I like my covers but it makes the Underworld look like where bikers would hang out and I think that’s awesome.

My Least Favorite Cover

The House of Hades British Cover The House of Hades Russian Cover

Another tie but really I couldn’t pick between the British cover and the Russian cover. I don’t like any of the British covers to be honest, they put way too much attention on the monsters instead of on the heroes and it rubs me the wrong way. And the Russian cover is just weird, I kind of feel like they Photoshopped pictures of the movie stars on top of the covers and it looks wrong.

Honorable Mention

The House of Hades Indonesian Cover

I don’t love or hate this one but I wanted to mention it because while all the other covers focus on Annabeth and Percy in the Underworld, this one focuses on the other heroes and their journey to find and help them which I think is unique and pretty cool.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Sep. 10th – A Monster of a Book (+500 pages)

Leave a Reply

