Book Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses Cover

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publication: May 5th, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Format: Kindle Edition, 432 pages

Genre: New Adult, Retelling, Paranormal

Read: May 2015

Sarah J. MaasGoodreads

 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Critically
Plot – 4.5 out of 5 stars
One thing I can say about the plot of this book is that it’s addicting and engaging. I read this during a read-a-thon and I devoured it. It was suspenseful and mysterious. There were twists and turns and it was full of tense moments and drama. And close toward the end it was action packed and gave me a lot of anxiety. In general, it leaves you on the edge of your seat.
Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars
It was definitely different from her young adult novels. It’s very detailed and the descriptions are incredible. The pace is slow but steady until we get to a certain point where things completely take off. It’s dramatic and emotional and it really plays into the plot as well. It translates very well.
Characters – 3.5 out of 5 stars
This used to be 5 out of 5 stars and then I began to analyze my thoughts and realized that the characters have a few issues, at least the main characters. They were all very complex and intriguing but there were some actions and personality traits were a little problematic. Feyre was both brave and strong but also reckless and stupid. I don’t know how that combination worked but that’s what happened. She had the role of caretaker in her household which made her strong. But then she was really indecisive about her opinions on a few important things. It was a little frustrating thinking back on it, but at the time, I would just ignore it. Tamlin, our love interest is a bit bipolar to be honest. Sometimes he’s charming and sweet and then the next minute he’s mysterious and intense. There seems to be a lot of emotional turmoil going on inside him which kind of gives him this tortured sort of vibe. The real stand outs in this book were two of the side characters. Most people know now who they are but I’m not going to mention their names. All I’m going to say is that they had more personality in their pinky fingers than the main characters had in their whole bodies.

Emotionally

When I read this book, I consumed it and promptly gave it 5 stars. Then I let it sink in for a few days and found that I didn’t love it as much as I thought I did.

The plot was addicting. This is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast (the Disney movie most likely) and it kind of shows in the beginning. I admit I haven’t watched the movie in a while but there are scenes that correlate between them. It was very slow in the beginning but still mysterious and suspenseful. This push and pull with Feyre trying to figure out where she is, what is going on inside the mansion, a way to escape while still trying to understand the Fae and the way they act and deciding if she likes them or hates them. The pace stays this way until almost the very end where things really take off and that was a little annoying. So much set up for only a few chapters of climax and then resolution. I would’ve liked it better if we had more of the happenings toward the last few chapters earlier in the novel and a more spread out resolution to the story. The world building was average. While I loved the different representations of fae (High Fae, Suriel, etc) but I would’ve liked to see more of the landscape. We only venture out with Tamlin and Feyre around his land but there was a lot of talk about the rest of the kingdoms I guess that I wanted to explore them. Hopefully we’ll see more in future books. The best parts of this book were the last 15% where the plot really took off and things got intense and interesting to the point of me being unable to put the book down. If only that feeling would’ve been prevalent the entire time.

Feyre is described to us as strong and independent and powerful, a Katniss not a Bella, if you will. But I didn’t see any of that from her until the very end. She’s the main caretaker of her family and she has to hunt for their food and trade things to be able to afford other luxuries so I thought she’d be tougher. But she’s mostly just indecisive while at the mansion. She likes fae, she hates them, Tamlin is a sweetheart, Tamlin is a jerk, etc. And on top of that, she made a lot of reckless and stupid decisions. Things that were obviously something not to do, like try to leave the mansion when you’re thousand of miles away from home. Things that people told her were dangerous and not to do them, she did them anyway and got in trouble for it. It happened time and time again and it got to the point where I thought she might be a little stupid.

Tamlin on the other hand is extremely bipolar. Sometimes he was sweet to Feyre, worried about her wellbeing and how she was feeling in the mansion and then the next second, he was ignoring her and even sometimes seeming threatening towards her. The reason for this is explained but 70% into the book and that was just too late for me. I understood the reason, it made sense as a way to following the retelling but there could’ve been a better way to handle it that didn’t lean toward an example of an abusive relationship.

Now onto the amazing side characters. Lucien and Rhysand stole the show. They have more personality than Feyre and Tamlin put together. I don’t want to get to deep into their stories because I have a feeling that they will be the protagonists in the next two books, and just from that fact alone, those books will be three times better than this one.

So that’s it for this review! Let me know what you thought and if you’ve read this book, whether you agree with me or not. See you in my next post!

XOXO

Sara

10 thoughts on “Book Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Good review! I agree, it’s easy to fall in love with these books right from the start, but I liked how you took a step back to give it a real review. For me, the weaknesses in all three books of ACoTaR was the same descriptions in most of the sex scenes, the abuse of ellipses, and the never-ending fragmented sentences. They are still awesome books, but there a few things to point out.
    I would love it if you checked out my YA book blog:
    https://readsandroses.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve yet to read this book but now I’m not too sure. High fantasy is a difficult genre for me – I either love it or hate it or dnf it… I guess it may be worth a go though. This sounds like quite an honest review though compared to the others I’ve seen – they just completely rave rave rave about it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • High Fantasy is my favorite genre so I had no problem reading it, but it’s definitely not the best high fantasy has to offer. I was originally going to rave and rave until I realized I did have some issues with the story haha glad I was honest either way

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

