The Reading Habits Tag

Hey all!

I am back today with a tag. I’m pretty excited since this tag in particular is a neat way for you all to get to know me better.

Thanks to Parneet from The Enchanted Book and Giovanna from BookComaBlog for tagging me! This tag was originally created by TheBookJazz on YouTube. Click here to see the original tag video.

This is the Reading Habits Tag which is basically me answering a bunch of questions on the way I read.

SO let’s get started!

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

When I read on my iPod touch through the Kindle app, I would read anywhere, my bed, kitchen table, couch, outside, etc. After I had my iPod stolen and I read from my laptop, I usually confine myself to the couch, the dining room and my bed.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I use the Kindle book mark generally. It’s a nice tool and easy to use. If I’m reading a physical book, which is rare these days, either I read too fast to even need a bookmark or I use a random piece of paper.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop at the end of a chapter/a certain amount of pages? 

I tend to read by quarters on Kindle, 25%, then 50% and so on, so I stop wherever that spot arises. Unless the chapters are particularly long, then I’ll stop at the end of the chapter so I don’t have to try to hard to remember where I left off.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

Most of the time, yes. I try to keep it to things not too messy. I drink water and have light snacks cause since I’m on my iPod or computer, I don’t really worry too much about it.

5. Multitasking: music or TV whilst reading?

ALL THE TIME! I cannot not multitask. I’m usually reading, listening to music, working, writing or preparing blog posts or watching tv all at the same time. I can’t be focused on one thing for too long or my mind starts to wonder so I usually work with a round robin.

6. One book at a time or several at once?

I’ve gotten in the habit since starting booktube to read three books at once. It’s a way for me to read faster and it’s the perfect amount so I don’t get confused by plot points. As I mentioned above I read by quarters, so 25% of the first, then 25% of the second, then 50% of the first then 25% of the third and then 50% of the second and so on until the first is finished and I start a new one.

7. Read at home or everywhere?

Because I’m reading on my laptop I mostly read at home now, but if I could I would read anywhere. I love going to the beach or the park with a good book and just being surrounded by nature and a whole other world all at the same time.

8. Read aloud or silently in your head?

Silently. I get really frustrated when people read out loud unless it’s in a class and you’re told by a teacher to do it.

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I used to be the type of person who’d read the last line of a book to make sure I wouldn’t be mad or disappointed at the end but now I tend to go in completely blind and hope for the best.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

New, always new. I like to keep my books as pristine as possible. You never know if in the future they could be collectibles or just to be able to share with my kids the books I read in the past and not have to have them deal with something broken or badly treated.

11. Do you write in books?

I can’t say I’m completely opposed to it, I see the benefits of why it’s done but I’ve just never felt the desire to.

So that’s it for this tag! Hope you enjoyed it and learned a few things about me and my reading life. I will be tagging my friend Gervan @ by G.J. Alvi again cause I’m probably always going to and anyone else who hasn’t done this and wants to, comment and I’ll make sure to tag you too!

Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

Leave a Reply

