T5W Sep. 30th – Banned Books You’ve Read

Hello and welcome to the last Top 5 Wednesday of the month! It’s been a great month of posts and I can’t wait to close it up with a bang!

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is top 5 favorite Banned Books you’ve read in commemoration of Banned Books Week which runs from 9/27 – 10/3. I used the links Lainey provided to research a bit before picking my top 5 and I found it really interesting the sheer number of books that have been banned and the myriad of stupid reasons for them being banned. I’ll leave those links at the end of the post if you’d like to check it out.

SO let’s get started!

#5: The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things
by Carolyn Mackler

The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things Cover

This is a coming of age story about a voluptuous young girl who feels out of place in her family and in her school. She comes to terms with herself and her body while dealing with some unfortunate family issues. The reason this was banned, which is ridiculous to me since it was an amazing book, was because of its language and reference to sexual content. Which is not even the worst I’ve ever seen.

#4: Yaqui Delgado Wants To Kick Your Ass
by Meg Medina

Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass Cover

I read this book during the Anti-Bullying Week Read-a-thon last year and it’s about this girl who changes school and ends up in the sights of the meanest girl in school. Worst description ever I know. I liked it but I wasn’t blown away by it and it wasn’t what I expected going it. It was banned because of coarse language though I think if it should’ve been banned for something, it should’ve been violence.

#3: Forever…
by Judy Blume

Forever Cover

I read this book a very very long time ago, back in seventh grade when a friend loaned it to me. It was my first slightly adult teenage contemporary, the first book I read that included sex in it and its one of my favorites because of the way it speaks of it matter of factly, and expressed the reality of teenage relationships. It also has one of my favorite inside jokes haha. This book was banned for sexual content, the mention of birth control (yes, I’m serious) and homosexuality in a supporting character.

#2: The Hunger Games
by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games Cover

I don’t think I need to describe this book or the reason it was banned. I’m sure violence had a lot to do with it, never mind that it’s violence by kids against kids. If it wasn’t so amazingly written, I probably would’ve agreed with the banning. But at the same time, gladiators did something similar in real life and no one complained about it at the time.

#1: The Perks of Being Wallflower
by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower Cover

It makes me really sad to think that a book as incredible and heartfelt as this one is banned because of a small thing like sexual content and language. There is such a deep message hidden in here and it sucks that people won’t get to experience it because of such trivial things.

So that’s all for my choices this week! I tried to share some unknown books as well as some obvious ones and I can’t wait to see what everyone has chosen. Thanks for reading and see you on my next post.

XOXO

Sara

 

5 thoughts on “T5W Sep. 30th – Banned Books You’ve Read

Leave a Reply

