September ’15 Wrap Up

Hello everyone!

I am here to wrap up the books I read in September. The school year started for me at my teaching job and although I wanted to read a lot more than I did, it just was not possible at all. I have been looking forward to this month for so long and it was a bit disappointing to not get as far as I wanted to but the books that I did manage to read I really enjoyed.

Here’s what I read in September:

Drowning Is Inevitable
by Shalanda Stanley

 Drowning is Inevitable Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was an e-ARC I received from NetGalley that I’d totally forgotten about and thus decided to read it before its release date. It was really strange but the ending was amazing. Click here to see my full review.

Changeless (Parasol Protectorate #2)
by Gail Carriger

Changeless Cover

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE THIS SERIES! This is the second book in the Parasol Protectorate series about a woman named Alexia Tarabotti who has more sass and attitude in her pinky finger than the majority of the young adult heroines. It’s an adult Steampunk series that just keeps getting better with each book.

These Shallow Graves
by Jennifer Donnelly

These Shallow Graves Cover

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This book was amazing. It’s another e-ARC from NetGalley which I decided to read this month because of its impending release in October. It was awesome. I absolutely loved it and was completely captivated the entire time. There are some many themes: friendship, determination, feminism. I can’t wait to talk about it more in the review I’ll be sharing next month a week before release. Watch out for it if you want to know more about the amazingness of this.

The Sin Eater’s Daughter
by Melinda Salisbury

The Sin Eater's Daughter Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was my TBR jar pick for the month and I was really excited to get into it because this was one of my most anticipated releases of the year. But I was a bit disappointed, it was definitely not what I thought it was going to be. The writing style took me awhile to get used to and the story was lagging in the beginning. Towards the middle things picked up and I started to enjoy myself more and become immersed into the plot but the ending left me really confused and underwhelmed. Not sure if I’m going to post my review here or just on Goodreads so let me know if you’d like to hear more in depth thoughts on this book.

Blameless (Parasol Protectorate #3)
by Gail Carriger

Blameless Cover

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

This was slightly disappointing. I don’t really know how to explain my thoughts on it. I still enjoyed it, it was fun and entertaining and hilarious like always. The characters introduced in this one were peculiar and creepy but intriguing. And even with all of that, there was something missing. It didn’t move me or captivate me as much as the first two had. I’m hoping the rest of the series doesn’t follow in these footsteps.

Inamorata
by Megan Chance

Inamorata Cover

 Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was just incredibly weird. It took me a really long time to get into it, it was really slow and there was so many things that just felt wrong to me. The story was interesting but it developed in a really strange way and it did not captivate at all. It finally started getting good toward the end and I was biting my nails to see what would happen but the end just disappointed me. I’ll definitely be doing a review on this because I have a lot to say.

Heartless (Parasol Protectorate #4)
by Gail Carriger

Heartless Cover

 Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars

I’ve never been one of those people obsessed with the specific point whatever on a rating, but I feel like I need to make a distinction with this book. It’s much better than the last one but it’s still missing that something special from the other books. That extra point one however that the other one is missing, is for a special little something we get toward the end.

The Fixer (The Fixer #1)
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Fixer Cover

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

THIS WAS AMAZING! If you recall, this is the book my friends Gervan and Abby and I chose to read as our monthly book club book and it was incredible! We took a little longer than usual to read it cause of life and all but I honestly would have read this in one sitting if I could have. It was totally addicting and exciting and there is still so much more to find out! I can’t wait to continue the series.

 SO those are all the books I read this month! Get ready for lots of Steampunk reviews coming in October and a special little feature I’m cooking up. Let me know your thoughts on my thoughts. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

3 thoughts on “September ’15 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

