October ’15 TBR – Zombies Theme

Hello everyone!

I am here today with my TBR for October. Considering this is the month that hosts the creepiest holiday of the year, Halloween, I tend to choose creeptastic themes for my TBRs during this month. As well as watch Hocus Pocus every time its on the air. My theme for last year was just a general creepy which looking back didn’t really offer me a good basis for the books I picked, so I went a little bit more specific this year.

My theme for the month is Zombies! Now I didn’t go all out with the amount of books since 1. I’m a huge scaredy cat and this is as close as I get to anything scary and 2. I don’t really have that many zombie books in my TBR overall so not as many to choose from. But I did pick a few.

Here are the books I am hoping to read this month:


First Order of Business:
Illuminae
by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae Cover

I got an e-ARC of this book from NetGalley and at first, I had no idea how to read it since it didn’t have the usual send to Kindle option. But I finally figured it out and since it will be released this month so I want to read it early in October to be able to post a review a week before its release.

Goodreads

TBR Jar Pick:
For Darkness Shows the Stars
by Diana Peterfreund

For Darkness Shows the Stars Cover

My lovely mom helped me out with this by picking the name out of my jar. I don’t have this book really high on my TBR but I thought why not give it a try anyway. This is a retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion which I haven’t read so I won’t be able to tell if its accurate or not, but the cover is beautiful right?!

Goodreads

Monthly Book Club:
Carry the Ocean
by Heidi Cullinan

Carry the Ocean Cover

This is literally a random book Gervan found while looking for LGBTQ+ fiction and this month is in celebration of those amazing types of people we thought why the hell not, right?! It also deals with issues like mental health and physical disabilities so I’m going into it hoping for the best.

Goodreads

This Is Not A Test Duology #1, #2
This Is Not A Test and Please Remain Calm
by Courtney Summers

This is Not a Test Cover Please Remain Calm Cover

I’ve only read one other Courtney Summers book and that is Fall for Anything. I didn’t end up enjoying that one as much as I hoped I would, I didn’t really understand the message, but I really enjoyed her writing style. I’m hoping I’ll have a better time with this duology.

Goodreads

Every Other Day
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Every Other Day Cover

There are not many zombie related stand alones in the world but I managed to find two of them. The first is this one by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. I have read her book Raised by Wolves but a very long time ago when I first bought it in hardcover. I enjoyed it but haven’t had a chance to continue on with the series. My friend Gervan really likes her mystery series so I’m hoping this will be a good match.

Goodreads

 Revenants Series #1, #2, #2.5, #3, #3.5
Die For Me, Until I Die, Die For Her, If I Should Die and Die Once More

 Die For Me Cover Until I Die Cover Die For Her Cover  If I Should Die Cover Die Once More Cover

I haven’t really heard much about this series anywhere, which might be because it’s pretty old but it’s one of the few that feature zombie primarily so I thought why not give it a shot. Also, those covers are beautiful don’t you think?

Goodreads

Drain You
by Beth M. Bloom

Drain You Cover

I have absolutely no idea what this is about except that it involves more than one paranormal creature. Let’s hope for the best huh?

Goodreads

And last but not least

Healer Trilogy #1, #2, #3
Touch of Power, Scent of Magic and Taste of Darkness
by Magic V. Snyder

 Touch of Power Cover Scent of Magic Cover Taste of Darkness Cover

This trilogy by Maria V. Snyder. I always say she’s one of my favorite authors, but all I’ve read from her is the Chronicles of Ixia series (and only the first two books) so I thought it was high time to dive into something else she’s written. It’s a trilogy and seems pretty short and it includes some zombie-like beings so I thought it perfect for this month. Hopefully I’ll get to it.

Goodreads

Most of the time if I start a series and don’t manage to finish it in the same month, I’ll add them on to the next month’s TBR, so there might be a few books from September thrown in here, just not sure which yet.

So that’s all folks! Let me know if you have read any of these books and your thoughts on them. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

5 thoughts on “October ’15 TBR – Zombies Theme

Leave a Reply

