The Nostalgic Book Review

Hello everyone!

I am here today with another tag! I swear when I was on Booktube I was never tagged as much I’ve been since joining the blogosphere. I still have like three other tag/award posts to do.

Today’s is the Nostalgic Book Review. Jesse @ Books at Dawn tagged me to do it, so thank you, even though you know this will probably be one of the hardest posts I have ever done on my blog so far!

How the Tag Works

In this tag, you will be reviewing a book you read three or more years ago (if you started reading less than three years ago, tell us about your first book). The best part: you will be reviewing the book purely from memory. I hope you all have fantastic memory (because I certainly don’t)!

Here is the tag, broken down into three parts:

1. The Summary.

First, tell us a little bit about this book, and approximately when you read it. Write a summary (brief, long, anything you like!) of the book you are reviewing.

Note: This means that you are not allowed to look up specific details of the book if you do not remember them. Remember — purely from memory! If you don’t remember that one name, write what you think they were called. Hands off Google, everyone!

2. The Thoughts.

Share your thoughts on your chosen book. Reflect and talk about what you thought of the book back then.

3. The Epilogue.

Here’s the fun part: now you can look up a summary of the book – find all those names that you couldn’t remember, those plot points that seemed pretty important – and all those things you might have forgotten. Don’t go back and edit the summary from the first part!

Rules of the tag:

  • Please link back to Read Think Ponder’s post, so that the original rules are always accessible to anyone who is curious and wants to participate!
  • Remember: do not look up your book when writing its Summary and Thoughts.
  • Acknowledge the person who tagged you in your post.
  • Tag your friends and fellow bloggers – it’s up to you how many!

SO let’s get started!

Swoon Cover

Swoon

Author: Nina Malkin

Published: May 19th, 2009

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Format: Hardcover, 421 pages

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Ghosts

 

The Summary:

There’s this girl whose name escapes me who somehow finds out that her cousin, whose name starts with a P, is being possessed by a ghost. She obviously tries to figure out how to exorcise him and somehow he ends up becoming real, I don’t remember how. And he starts causing a bunch of havoc for her.

The Thoughts:

I remember very little about my feelings on this. I read it way back in 2009 or 2010. I saw the hardcover on Barnes & Noble and fell in love with the cover and bought it. Not sure how fast I read it but I finished it obviously. I think I enjoyed it, I remember being really pulled into the plot, whatever it was. I don’t know if I liked the main character but the ghost was frustrating and just a little bit scary. I was really upset when I finished it because I thought it was a stand alone and it ended really strangely, but I’m probably going to reread it since its a duology and I can’t remember anything about it.

The Epilogue:

Here’s the actual summary:

Sin is coming… Prepare to Swoon.

Torn from her native New York City and dumped in the land of cookie-cutter preps, Candice is resigned to accept her posh, dull fate. Nothing ever happens in Swoon, Connecticut…until Dice’s perfect, privileged cousin Penelope nearly dies in a fall from an old tree, and her spirit intertwines with that of a ghost. His name? Sinclair Youngblood Powers. His mission? Revenge. And while Pen is oblivious to the possession, Dice is all too aware of Sin. She’s intensely drawn to him—but not at all crazy about the havoc he’s wreaking. Determined to exorcise the demon, Dice accidentally sets Sin loose, gives him flesh, makes him formidable. Now she must destroy an even more potent—and irresistible—adversary, before the whole town succumbs to Sin’s will. Only trouble is, she’s in love with him.

What do you do when the boy of your dreams is too bad to be true?

I was a little right! The main character’s name in Candice but they call her Dice which is probably why I could not remember anything about her. Her cousin’s name does start with a P but I thought it was Penny not Penelope, but it’s close! The general plot line I got correct, some ghost possesses her cousin, she tries to save her, he lets loose and causes havoc. All in all, not as bad as I thought I would be at it. I did forget to mention that she was in love with him because why not fall in love with the ghost that possessed your cousin? Some YA girls are just so smart. And the dude’s name is Sin! Obviously he’s gonna be frustrating.

I’m going to tag:

Gervan @ by G.j. Alvi

Paige @ Page by Paige

Jessica @ Mud and Stars

Bree @ The Literary Hellion

So that’s it for this tag! I’m pretty surprised at how well I managed to do it, I should give myself a little pat on the back *does so.* Anywayyy, thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

3 thoughts on “The Nostalgic Book Review

Leave a Reply

