T5W Oct. 7th – Graphic Novels I Want to Read

Hello everyone and welcome to another Top 5 Wednesday! We are starting anew with a new month and entirely new topics!

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 favorite graphic novels and unfortunately I’ve never read any graphic novels. So since I still wanted to participate this week, I decided to adjust the topic to suit my needs. Today I’m giving you the top 5 graphic novels that I want to read.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Blankets
by Craig Thompson

Blankets Cover

I found out about this from Jesse at jessethereader on Youtube. What attracted me to this graphic novel the most is its size. It’s incredibly thick, almost bigger than a regular novel. I’ve never seen a graphic novel so big and the synopsis is very basic, so I’m really intrigued to see what kind of story is so long but so quickly explained.

#4: Chew
by John Layman and Rob Guillory

Chew Cover

I’ve heard so many great things about this graphic novel series. Emily from Emily Jean on Youtube talks about this none stop. The premise kind of creeps me out, the main character is a detective that gets psychic impressions from whatever he eats. Meaning if there’s a murder, he’ll nibble on the corpse. Which is disgusting but still intriguing at the same time.

#3: Through the Woods
by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods Cover

Again, I’ve heard so many great things about this graphic novel. It’s about 5 fairy tale stories and I’ve heard the illustrations are amazing. And I’ve also heard that its really, really creepy. I don’t know why I want to read so many graphic that are scary and/or gross considering I get scared of everything and I have a weak stomach, but oh well!

#2: Black is for Beginnings
by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Β Black is for Beginnings Cover

I actually own this graphic novel in paperback. It’s the continuation of one of my favorite series, Blue is for Nightmares and I am dying to read it… but I haven’t yet. I am generally really apprehensive about graphic novels. I feel like I won’t be able to know how to read them or I won’t be able to keep up with the plot since its in pictures. Yeah, yeah, I know but that’s the reason I haven’t picked this up yet. I will though, soon.

#1: Saga
by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Saga Vol. 1 Cover

Do I really need to explain myself on this one? No one in the book community has not heard of this graphic novel series or how much people just freaking love it. I know its very graphic, includes a lot of profanity and sexual situations but it’s still really intriguing to me. The fifth volume just came out and people are raving about it all over again so I definitely want to get into this soon.

So that’s all for my choices this week! I hope to get into the graphic novel scene at some point soon because these may be my favorites or most anticipating but there a lot more series and stand alone graphic novels to check out. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

13 thoughts on “T5W Oct. 7th – Graphic Novels I Want to Read

Leave a Reply

