T5W Oct. 14th – Favorite Diverse Characters

Hello! I am back with another Top 5 Wednesday but you already knew that since it’s Wednesday.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 favorite diverse characters. There was a lot to choose from because I make it a point to try and read diversely as much as possible. But a lot of my top choices came down to race, those ethnicities that aren’t written about much and that I love to read about.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Nawja and Zayele from The Jinni Wars Series
by Amber Lough

The Fire Wish Cover

 I had to pick both of them because I can’t really choose which one I like better. These two girls live in the Middle East, one is betrothed to a prince and the other is a jinni. The culture aspect of this book is very well done and detailed, from the landscape to the language to the characters. These girls represent their races clearly and concisely.

#4: Jayden from the Forbidden Trilogy
by Kimberly Griffiths Little

Forbidden 2 Cover

Jayden is from Mesopotamia. Isn’t that awesome?! She lives in a tribe that travels around the deserts throughout the year. It was so cool to find out more about that time in this historical fiction and I felt that Jayden’ point of view was very spot on. There was a lot of belly dancing passages which were awesome and quite a few cool settings we get to see. It’s a very heart wrenching story but incredibly intriguing.

#3: Emi from Everything Leads to You
by Nina LaCour

Everything Leads to You Cover

This is the only character I chose that has nothing to do with ethnicity or culture. I put Emi on this list because she’s part of the L in the LGBTQ+ spectrum. And my favorite part of this novel is that it’s not coming of age. Emi is quite clear and accepting of herself and her preferences and so are her friends and family around her. It was really refreshing to get this kind of genre without the self discovery story to go along with it and Emi is wonderful.

#2: Dante from Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Cover

I could’ve easily picked Aristotle for this spot since both boys represent the kind of theme I have going on of race representation. But the reason I picked Dante is because he is outside of the stereotypes that come with his race. I know what it’s like to feel like you have to act a certain way because of where you come from. I have to have a strong temper because I’m Latina (I do, but that’s beside the point). Dante represents all the Latinos who are white, who don’t speak Spanish, who don’t know how to dance but who still represent their race proudly.

#1: Leo Valdez from the Heroes of Olympus Series
by Rick Riordan

The Lost Hero Cover

 Just like the last choice, I could’ve easily chosen the majority of the characters in this series for this list. From Native American to Chinese to African American, there are so many ethniticities to choose from that it was almost a hard choice. But Leo is my favorite character in this entire series (aside from Percy himself) and he kind of represents me as well so I just had to choose him.

So that’s it for my choices this week! Let me know your favorite diverse characters and if we have any in common. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

3 thoughts on “T5W Oct. 14th – Favorite Diverse Characters

Leave a Reply

