T5W Oct. 28th – Halloween Recs

Hello everyone! I am here to do the last Top 5 Wednesday for this month.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

Since we all know what holiday is coming up in three days, this week’s topic is Top 5 Halloween Recommendations. Now I usually don’t read many scary books, I’m a huge scaredy cat. If I do read something and it scares me, it’s more of a thriller type books instead of actual horror. But I did pick some books that I feel are kind of scary for people who are just as afraid of scary things as me.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Blue is for Nightmares
by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Blue is for Nightmares Cover

This is a story about witches, more like Wiccan practicing type of thing. It’s not really very scary, it’s more like suspense thriller. There is kidnappings and crazy people. It’s the kind of book that keeps you on the edge of your seat and makes you think twice about a lot of things.

#4: Vampires Diaries
by L. J Smith and others

vampire-diaries

I wish more people would actually read the series instead of just watch the show. They’re two completely different things. I feel like the book is more of a thriller instead of the drama that the show provides. There’s a lot of death, fighting, crazy situations, creepy people and I honestly have never watched the show because I feel like the book is much better.

#3: Ice Massacre
by Tiana Warner

Ice Massacre Cover

You can tell by the cover that this is more of a gruesome type of book. This was a free ebook that I got a really long time ago and I finally read it in June this year. I wasn’t expecting much from this but I was completely blown away. There were parts that I got really freaked out about considering there flesh eating mermaids involved in graphic descriptions.

#2: The Archived
by Victoria Schwab

The Archived Cover 1

I’ve talked about this book so much but I still had to mention it. This is also the kind of book that keeps you on the edge of your seat. It’s not really scary but I feel like it is kind of a great Halloween read. It’s really creepy and strange and there was an edge to it that just freaks you out. I just want more people to read this book.

#1: Welcome to the Dark House
by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Welcome to the Dark House Cover

This is the only one that I think is actually a scary book and I don’t even care that I’m repeating an author. This is about a group of teens who enter a contest to meet a famous scary movie director and it all ends up being a crazy thing. I was literally scared out of my mind when I read this. The worst part of it was that I read it on Halloween night last year and that was the dumbest thing I’ve ever done.

So that’s it for my choices this week! I know the majority of the books aren’t actually scary ones but I still think more people should read them. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

2 thoughts on “T5W Oct. 28th – Halloween Recs

  1. Welcome to the dark house sounds amazing! I’m on the lookout for books that are genuinely scary, because I seem to find a lot of books that are marketed as terrifying just aren’t! What you’ve just said about it makes me really want to read it! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

