Book Traveling Thursdays Oct. 29th – Book That Scared You

Hello everyone!

I am here today to do the last Book Traveling Thursday of the month. I kind of missed this meme last week. This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic, in honor of Halloween, is a book that scared you. It took me awhile to pick a book to share because obviously I wanted one that had a few book covers to choose from and also one that I didn’t mention yesterday. But I don’t read a lot of scary books.

I picked one of my favorite books which I reread all the time which the first time I read it freaked me out a lot.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong. She’s one of my favorite authors and I absolutely love this book and series. I reread this in 2014 and I have the paperback edition on my shelves so whenever I don’t have any other book to read, that’s my go to book.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

The Summoning

I love this cover. I like the necklace which is a big part of the story line. I really like that the girl is shown but not the details of her face. I hate when books have faces in them and you can see all the details and it takes away from your own imagination. But I love how the features are spot on with the descriptions in the book but not so much so as to restrict you.

My Favorite Cover

The Summoning Czech Cover

I really like this cover. It is the Czech cover and I love the colors. Again the representation of the necklace is great. I love the contrast of the blue and the red, it really stands out. I love how the model’s eyes are down and though you can see her features, I still like that you can’t see them incredibly clearly.

My Least Favorite Cover

The Summoning German Cover The Summoning Italy Cover

 I was hoping to only have one choice when it came to least favorite since I always cheat and pick more than one but there was no way I could choose between the two of these. The first is the German cover, I liked it a little bit because of the blue color scheme but I don’t like the model or the house at the bottom. The model is way too big for the proportions, and the house is definitely not the greatest representation of the one in the book. The second is the Italian cover and I just think it looks unnecessarily creepy. The book is creepy in certain parts but it ends up being more about survival and this just looks like headless ghost type of thing.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Oct. 29th – Book That Scared You

  1. I love seeing all the different covers! This series is also actually one of my favourite YA paranormal- Chloe and Derek are so great together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

