October ’15 Wrap Up

Hey guys!

It’s time for my October wrap up. This month was absolutely crazy. I had so much work to do, not only the academic side of things but I was in charge of the Halloween party activity for the older kids, which ended up being a kind of Fear Factor. The kids had a blast and so did I but it was a lot of work and so I didn’t end up reading as much as I wanted to this month. In fact, sadly, I only read one book from my actual theme.

Here’s what I read in October:

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1)
by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is a e-ARC that I received from NetGalley awhile ago. I enjoyed it but the edition that I got was really troubling and hard to read. I wish I could’ve had a physical because of this format. If you’d like to see my more in depths thoughts, click here to see my review.

 Timeless (Parasol Protectorate #5)
by Gail Carriger

Timeless Cover

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the last book in this series and I loved it! I know I’ve probably been annoying people with my constant talk of this series and I would say sorry but I’m really not. But if you are annoyed, you should be happy that after the review for this book, I’m taking a break from talking about Gail Carriger and her amazing books.

This is Not a Test (This is Not a Test Duology #1)
by Courtney Summers

This is Not a Test Cover

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I was really interested in reading this book because the last time I read something from Courtney Summers, I did not enjoy it but I really liked her writing style so I was hoping this one would be better. And it was! I was freaked the f out the entire time because it’s a zombie apocalypse story and the main character is a little bit off which is this author’s tendency. I’m probably going to write a review for this, so watch this out!

For Darkness Shows the Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars #1)
by Diana Peterfreund

For Darkness Shows the Stars Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was my TBR jar pick of the month and I really enjoyed it. This is a retelling of Persuasion by Jane Austen but since I haven’t read that I can’t say if it’s an accurate representation or not. I thought it was going to be different then it actually was. There was a lot of background and information that was a bit confusing at first but was better to understand once you got into the plot. And there was so much angst!

Carry the Ocean (The Roosevelt #1)
by Heidi Cullinan

Carry the Ocean Cover

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the book for my monthly book club with my friends Gervan and Abby and we absolutely loved this book. It happened quite a few times that we got caught up in the story and read more than where we said we’d stop. Ok, I say we but it was mostly me who did that but I couldn’t help it, it was so addicting! There is so much beauty in this book and in these characters and their lives. I just loved it so much.

So those are all the books I read in October! I’m actually a little disappointed that I didn’t improve on the amount from last month and that I read so little from my actual theme. But I can do better and I will! Thanks for reading and see you on my next post.

XOXO

Sara

5 thoughts on “October ’15 Wrap Up

  1. Timeless looks really fun, very pop art-y, like something from the old times! I don’t think I’ve actually ever seen it or heard of it before.

    PS: While you didn’t improve on the count, you’ve given very high ratings on all the books you’ve read this month—I think that’s a win it itself! :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • Timeless is part of an adult historical fiction steampunk series. I have a review of the first book called Soulless if you’re interested in checking it out. You might be right, quality is much more important than quantity 🙂

      Like

      • Quality is definitely more important than quantity! Besides, personally quantity just makes everything blur together–I read 100+ books several years back and when I look back at my reading list, I have literally zero recollection of some of the books I read then. D:

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

