T5W Nov. 4th – Favorite Series Novellas

Hey all! Getting back on that Top 5 Wednesday grind todayyy.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

I am so pumped for this week’s topic which is Top 5 Favorite Series Novellas. I take the time to read novellas every time I start a new series and I love to read them. I feel like there’s a reason an author feels the need to write a novella and so there has to be something to gain, to learn or to experience from a series that’s important to read.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Summer’s Crossing
by Julie Kagawa

Summer's Crossing Cover

I really enjoyed Julie’s Iron Fey series which I read in March of this year and one of my favorite characters is Puck. This novella is all about him and it’s great! I loved hearing his thoughts and seeing how they worked. Getting to know more about his intentions was great and I really enjoyed it.

#4: The Assassin and The Desert
by Sarah J. Mass

The Assassin's Blade Cover

I was going to use the entire group of novellas as my number four but I decided to pick one of the five and went with The Assassin and the Desert. I think its my favorite of all of them because I feel like it is the rawest and most beautiful. There is so much growth in Celaena’s character in this particular novella and I love it.

#3: Destroy Me
by Tahereh Mafi

Destroy Me Cover

This is the novella that changed it all. I could not do this list without it! This is the novella that is from Warner’s point of view in this series. It shares all of his inner thoughts and intentions and I’m not kidding when I say it changed it all. I hated him in that first book and my opinion was completely different after this novella.

#2: Assassin Study
by Maria V. Snyder

Assassin Study Cover

I LOVE THIS SERIES AND I LOVED THIS NOVELLA! This novella is right after the first book and it’s from Valek’s point of view. I love listening to his thoughts and experiencing his feelings for Yelena. As well as how he behaves himself against his enemies. It’s short but freaking awesome.

#1: The Moth in the Mirror

by A.G Howard

The Moth in the Mirror Cover

Although the character that narrates this novella is not my favorite of this series, I loved it. I loved the descriptions and the imagery and all the behind the scenes look at the peculiar setting that’s created in this series. I can’t wait until the compilation of novellas comes out to be able to reread this and two more because I feel like the world here is so rich and interesting not to have a billion books and/or novellas on it.

So that’s it for my choices this week! Let me know if you guys have read any of these and what you thought. Sometimes I feel like novellas are wayy too short, almost chapter size and I wish they were longer. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

3 thoughts on “T5W Nov. 4th – Favorite Series Novellas

Leave a Reply

