Book Traveling Thursdays Nov. 5th – Favorite Bookish Family

Hello people!

Welcome to another Book Traveling Thursday! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is favorite bookish family. And I kind of cheated a little bit. The book I chose doesn’t have a traditional family, I feel like what my choice for this topic would be in how all the characters relate to each other and become like a family.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen. I feel like the group of Wish Bone Catering that Macy becomes a part of is kind of like a tight knit family. The owner and her best friend’s sons, the two sisters and our main character bond in a way that is very sweet, genuine and chaotic. Just like a real family.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

The Truth About Forever Cover

I like this cover even though it doesn’t really transmit a lot about the story. It’s very simple and pretty. It basically shouts that its contemporary in a way that no other book cover I know has. But I feel like there should’ve been something more telling about the actual plot of the book on this cover.

My Favorite Cover

9780142406250_TruthAboutFo_CV.indd

In 2012, Sarah Dessen’s books all got a reissue with new covers and this is the one for this particular book. I absolutely love this book. I feel like it has the classic contemporary style, but the simplicity of Dessen’s collection and it actually has a representation of the plot! If you can’t tell the charm on the bracelet is a wishbone to represent Wish Bone catering and I love the lapis lazuli beads and the color of the font they picked. Just great!

My Least Favorite Cover

The Truth About Forever German Cover

This is the German Kindle edition cover and I just can’t help but feel like fans have reiterated how much we have people on covers so many times, that I don’t know why companies still do covers like these! It makes it so much harder to see the character in your mind or even worse, the character you picture has absolutely nothing to do with the girl on the cover. It’s just annoying. Stop doing it please!

Honorable Mention

The Truth About Forever German PB Cover

I haven’t done an honorable mention in quite a long time but I just had to briefly talk about this cover. This is the German paperback cover and I just think it is so cute how they decided to represent the catering side. The main characters side by side plus the little apron are so much more telling of what you’re doing to read. I give them props for picking something a bit more original.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Nov. 5th – Favorite Bookish Family

  1. I agree with not having people on the cover. The only time I don’t mind it is when the person on the cover actually looks mostly like they are described in the book. A great example is Lara Jean in To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

