Book Review – For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

For Darkness Shows the Stars Cover

For Darkness Shows the Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars #1)

Author: Diana Peterfreund

Publication: June 12th, 2012

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Format: Kindle Edition, 416 pages

Genre: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Retellings

Read: October 2015

Diana PeterfreundGoodreads

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis
It’s been several generations since a genetic experiment gone wrong caused the Reduction, decimating humanity and giving rise to a Luddite nobility who outlawed most technology.
Elliot North has always known her place in this world. Four years ago Elliot refused to run away with her childhood sweetheart, the servant Kai, choosing duty to her family’s estate over love. Since then the world has changed: a new class of Post-Reductionists is jump starting the wheel of progress, and Elliot’s estate is foundering, forcing her to rent land to the mysterious Cloud Fleet, a group of shipbuilders that includes renowned explorer Captain Malakai Wentforth—an almost unrecognizable Kai. And while Elliot wonders if this could be their second chance, Kai seems determined to show Elliot exactly what she gave up when she let him go.
But Elliot soon discovers her old friend carries a secret—one that could change their society . . . or bring it to its knees. And again, she’s faced with a choice: cling to what she’s been raised to believe, or cast her lot with the only boy she’s ever loved, even if she’s lost him forever.
Inspired by Jane Austen’s persuasion, For Darkness Shows the Stars is a breathtaking romance about opening your mind to the future and your heart to the one person you know can break it.

Critically
Plot – 4 out of 5 stars
It’s very regular, not too action packed or intense. It revolves around the relationship between the two main characters and their life in an estate. It’s very character driven but still lacks that thing that makes you addicted to a story.
Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars
It’s very detailed and old fashioned. Very verbose, some paragraphs were a bit too long for my tastes. It was a medium pace and engaging as well as very descriptive. I enjoyed it but I wasn’t crazy over it and it didn’t make the story go faster.
Characters – 3.5 out of 5 stars
I did not like the characters as much as I was hoping to when I started this but considering this is character driven, that’s not good at all. Elliot, our main character and narrator, is smart and determined. She’s responsible and very protective of the people she loves. She’s really selfless and has given up a lot for the good of everyone else but I was still not completely convinced on her personality. I just didn’t connect with her that much. Kai, our male lead, was a bit better but not that much. Here’s really jaded, mysterious and misguided. As the story moves forward he’s curious and apologetic but he just rubbed me the wrong way most of the time. I wanted to connect with them and with their relationship more than I did considering that the whole story revolved around that.

Emotionally

I was expecting to be more emotionally involved in this book but it didn’t actually worked out that way.

The plot is more contemporary than dystopian. We follow two people who grew up together but come from two different social statuses. They were in love but they seperated and then years later, the man of the equation comes back new and improved and a bunch of angst happens. Tell me that doesn’t sound like a new adult contemporary and I won’t believe you. This was a lot more about the relationship that was than about their surroundings. The whole thing was contemporary with some dystopian decorations like the world building and a very specific plot point which were the only things remotely science fiction. The former was completely confusing (I still don’t really understand what happened in their world) and the latter was over exaggerated and was made into a bigger deal than it really needed to be. I don’t mind that it wasn’t what I expected but give me a warning. The cover made me think that it would be this epic dystopian science fiction love story and it was just a love story, one that I didn’t connect to that well. As for it being a retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion, I can’t really tell you if its good or not since I have not read it before.

Elliot was an okay character. She had really strong qualities. She was very determined to help out the people she was in charge of, she put their needs above her own and she was very smart and resourceful with how to do that. She had a lot of integrity but sometimes that would turn into stubbornness that would just not go away and it got incredibly annoying. It got old really fast.

Kai started off being rude, petulant and annoying and then kind of evolved into a mature man. But by that time, I just wanted to finish the story. I feel like I’m painting it off worse than it really was because I did enjoy it. It just wasn’t what I expected it to be.

So that’s it for this review! I hope you enjoy it. Let me know if you have read this book and what you thought of it. Thanks for reading and see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

Leave a Reply

