Soundtrack to My Book – Carry the Ocean by Heidi Cullinan

Hello everyone!

I am back today to do my monthly feature combining awesome books and great music which I share with my friend Gervan. This month I’m posting first because my buddy is in finals but as soon as his post goes up, I’ll be sure to add it here for your viewing pleasure.

This was supposed to be posted on Friday but life has been stressful and crazy this week and I almost didn’t post this at all because it’s Sunday at almost ten pm as I write this and I have work tomorrow but I decided better late than never!

Last month we read Carry the Ocean by Heidi Cullinan in honor of LGBTQ+ Awareness month and I absolutely loved this book. It’s about these two boys who are faced with some really tough challenges both personal and in their relationship and how they overcome them together. It’s the cutest thing ever and I’m so glad it’s the first in a series.

SO let’s get started!

Carry the Ocean Cover

Normal is just a setting on the dryer.

High school graduate Jeremey Samson is looking forward to burying his head under the covers and sleeping until it’s time to leave for college. Then a tornado named Emmet Washington enters his life. The double major in math and computer science is handsome, forward, wicked smart, interested in dating Jeremey—and he’s autistic.

But Jeremey doesn’t judge him for that. He’s too busy judging himself, as are his parents, who don’t believe in things like clinical depression. When his untreated illness reaches a critical breaking point, Emmet is the white knight who rescues him and brings him along as a roommate to The Roosevelt, a quirky new assisted living facility nearby.

As Jeremey finds his feet at The Roosevelt, Emmet slowly begins to believe he can be loved for the man he is behind the autism. But before he can trust enough to fall head over heels, he must trust his own conviction that friendship is a healing force, and love can overcome any obstacle.

Warning: Contains characters obsessed with trains and counting, positive representations of autism and mental illness, a very dark moment, and Elwood Blues.

The Soundtrack

Let Me Love You by Neyo (Glee Cast Version)

 God Gave Me You by Blake Shelton

What Do You Mean by Justin Bieber

Make You Feel My Love by Adele

Beautiful to Me by Olly Murs

Lightning in a Bottle by Eli Lieb

Fix the World Up for You by James Morrison

Out of the Blue by Aly & AJ

So that’s it for this post! I hope you liked it. Let me know what you think and if you want some elaboration on our choices. Thanks for reading and see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

One thought on “Soundtrack to My Book – Carry the Ocean by Heidi Cullinan

  1. […] This is one of the books I read for my Monthly Book Club with my friends Abby and Gervan and I was really pleasantly surprised with it. The plot follows two boys with different heavy problems, mental health and autism, and their work for independence and their desire to have a romantic relationship. I really love the distinct narration and the message behind it and I would really recommend it. Check out my soundtrack here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

