November ’15 Wrap Up

Hello everyone!

Today I am doing my November reading wrap up. I was honestly quite shocked with the amount of books I managed to read this month. I was actually really busy, we are winding down the term at work so there’s report cards and term tests and a lot of extra work being done at home and I really thought I would not get much reading done at all but I ended up reading 18 BOOKS! Isn’t that crazy? I haven’t read this much since February.

Some of the books I read were part of the Anti-Bullying Week Readathon that I participated in. Click here to see my separate wrap up with those books.

Here’s what I read in November:

Fallen Too Far (Rosemary Beach #1)
by Abbi Glines

Fallen Too Far Cover

 Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

I am a little sad to say that I was a bit disappointed with this book. I love Glines’ Sea Breeze series so much that this kind of underwhelmed me. It was short but really intense and too dramatic for me. But it wasn’t horrible.

Never Too Far (Rosemary Beach #2)
by Abbi Glines

Never Too Far Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This got a bit better. It was still really dramatic plot wise but the characterization and development between the two main characters was much better. I still wanted it to be a bit more fleshed out to be honest.

Forever Too Far (Rosemary Beach #3)
by Abbi Glines

Forever Too Far Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was the best one of them all. Still had the drama and the crazy plot points but there was a much deeper connection between the main characters and there was actual breakthroughs and character development that I really enjoyed. I’ll be doing a series review next month.

The Trouble With Destiny
by Lauren Morrill

The Trouble With Destiny Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was a bit of a disappointment too. I didn’t like the main character at all, her personality just got on my nerves. The plot was really predictable and I figured out the whole mystery in the first few chapters. The only reason this has four stars is because the supporting characters were bomb. I’ll talk about it more in my review on Friday.

The Queen of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling #1)
by Erika Johansen

The Queen of the Tearling Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 I loved this! I felt like it was a great start to a fantasy series. The main character was awesome, I feel like she was the right amount of vulnerable and strong, insecure and confident, to really pull off a teenage queen. The only thing I would’ve liked better was more of an explanation on the plot.

Ugly Love
by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love Cover

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

I was let down by this one too (this is becoming a trend) because I’ve heard so many great things about this author and I was just not impressed. While I liked the plot and the majority of the characters were good, I was really troubled with some of Tate’s decision making. There were a lot of instances where she did things against her better judgement and it really annoyed the heck out of me. That’s why I’m also posting a review of this in December.

The Mistake (Off-Campus #2)
by Elle Kennedy

The Mistake Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 I love this series! This is the second book and I am already dying for the third. I just feel like this is a great example of what New Adult should be. There’s nothing questionable, the relationship is good even in trials and tribulations, it’s not just focused on them but also on their life and the people that are around that life and it’s much deeper than just the angst of the romance.

Bad Romeo (Starcrossed #1)
by Leisa Rayven

Bad Romeo Cover

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was really scared going into this book because although there are a lot out there, this is the first fanfiction turned book that I’ve ever read. I was nervous that’d it would be too much like the original or that it would be too different and I wouldn’t connect as much when I didn’t know the new characters. But I was not disappointed! It has all the angst and intensity of the original which such great character development and a great plot. I just loved it. BUT THAT CLIFFHANGER!

Broken Juliet (Starcrossed #2)
by Leisa Rayven

Broken Juliet Cover

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This one picks up right where the first left off (thank God) and it was amazing. The resolution was so so sweet especially because it didn’t just happen. There was a growth that is so realistic but at the same time so needed in this kind of genre. Things aren’t just fixed because you are in love and you want a happy ending. They’re fixed because you work to better yourself and to find the ability to trust and love completely again. Just beautiful. I can’t wait for the next book in the series which is a companion and a brand new story of a beloved side character.

Catching Liam (Good Girls Don’t #1)
by Gennifer Albin

Catching Liam Cover

 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I feel like this book should be called Catching Jillian because that’s exactly what Liam is trying to do. The plot revolves around her and her struggles and I really feel like it’s more about her accepting him and his love and his dedication to them than her trying to win him over. I really enjoyed the heavy topics brought up in this book though I feel like there weren’t fleshed out enough because it was a short book. Still I enjoyed it.

Unwrapping Liam (Good Girls Don’t #1.5)
by Gennifer Albin

Unwrapping Liam Cover

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was just a short little novella during Christmas time that sets us up for the second book and kind of gives us a feel for how the characters are doing now. I feel like more things could’ve been resolved in this than just the one that did but I still liked it.

Confess
by Colleen Hoover

Confess Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I liked this one much better than Ugly Love but I still didn’t like very specific things. There’s something about the way Colleen writes relationship that are full of so much angst that sometimes it borders on the point of unrealistic which is obviously not good for a contemporary. There are several touchy subjects in this book that I feel are either too heavy or too light in their representation. However, reaching the end of this book hit me right in the freaking feels and it was really hard to resist the star crossed lovers feel of this story and to not root for the main characters and  their happy ending.

Teaching Roman (Good Girls Don’t #2)
by Gennifer Albin

Teaching Roman Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I don’t know which of these two books I liked better. On one hand this one is a lot longer and it introduces a Hispanic main character and his culture (though there is a sentence where if you speak Spanish you know, that’s not how you say that). But on the other, there’s a lot more going on than in the first book and it kind of makes it feel a bit rushed. However, I am really liking where this series is going and I am definitely going to continue on to find out more about the lives of these girls.

So that’s it for the books I read in October! The upside of reading so many books is having completed my Goodreads reading challenge of 100 books! (I am now at 110). But the downside is being super behind in hand writing my reviews before posting. Wish me luck catching up! Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

XOXO

Sara

10 thoughts on “November ’15 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

