T5W Dec. 9th – Favorite Retellings

Hello everyone!

I am back today with a Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Retellings and I was actually shocked to find out that I haven’t read as many as I thought I had considering this is my second favorite genre of all time. I still had enough to make this list but I am now twice as determined to read as much as I can this month since coincidentally, this is my theme for the month!

SO let’s get started!

#5: Cloaked
by Alex Flinn

Cloaked Cover

This is a retelling of a few different fairytales mushed together with a modern twist and a lot of funny moments. This is the first book that I ever bought and read by Alex Flinn and I really enjoyed it. I can’t wait to dive more into her work.

#4: Ella Enchanted
by Gail Carson Levine

Ella Enchanted Cover

This is probably the classic retelling. This is the one everyone first thinks of when you ask for a Cinderella retelling and although personally, I liked the movie way better than this book, I could see where they got the basis from this book and expended it for the big screen.

#3: A Court of Thorns and Roses
by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses Cover

Who hasn’t heard of this book by now? This is Maas’ first book in her new series surrounding different retellings and this one in particular is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. This was a really grown up and daring type of retelling and I can’t wait to see what more she has up her sleeve.

#2: Splintered
by A.G. Howard

Splintered Cover

This is by far one of my favorite retellings to ever life. And I personally consider it a reimagining because there is so much about this book that makes more sense than it ever did in the original. It’s a lot more morbid and violent and creepy, but it’s oh so good! If you have not read this, give it a chance!

#1: Rook
by Sharon Cameron

Rook Cover

This is a retelling of the Scarlet Pimpernel but to me, it feels like a retelling of a Tale of Two Cities which is one of the reasons I loved it so much. There’s mystery, drama, high stakes and banter. There’s a lot of complaints from people saying that this is a slow book which is true but I feel like the payoff to read such a great story is worth taking a little while to get there.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know your favorite retellings. Thanks so much for reading and see you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

One thought on “T5W Dec. 9th – Favorite Retellings

Leave a Reply

