Book Traveling Thursdays Nov. 10th – Favorite Retelling

Hello everyone!

I am finally back to regular scheduled programming and today is Book Traveling Thursday time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is favorite retelling. And I don’t know how they do it but T5W and BTT sometimes have the same topics. Since I talked about my favorite retellings yesterday, I decided to pick a sequel from one of my favorite retelling series to share with you today.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Unhinged by A.G. Howard. This is the second book in an Alice in Wonderland re imagining full of netherlings, and evil queens and gruesome characters. This is not the Wonderland they talked about in Lewis Carroll’s book. It’s much much darker and it’s freaking awesome.

Original Cover & My Country (US) Cover

Unhinged Cover

I absolutely adore the color scheme that they used for this cover. Purple is my favorite color and the green and blue off set give the color such a creepy feel, perfect for the Wonderland in which the lovely character Morpheus comes from. Each book has a different main character as the center and I’m not a huge fan of this guy, but I love the outfit he has on.

My Favorite Cover

Unhinged German Cover

Props to Germany for actually adjusting their cover instead of just changing the fonts on top of the picture like everyone else. I actually think I like this model better, he reminds me more of how I see Morpheus in my head. But minus points for not adding the face jewels that characterize him so much.

My Least Favorite Cover

Unhinged Czech Cover

This is what I mean about the fonts. Come on, Czechs, you can do better than this! It’s such a clash between the picture and the words. Even if I could I wouldn’t be able to read the title because it blends more than stands out. Too cursive and thick, not enough contrast. It’s just not cute.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorite. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

XOXO

Sara

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Nov. 10th – Favorite Retelling

  1. I don’t know how that happened too. Sometimes it’s normal that the themes are the same because it is for special dates but I was really surprised and it made me laugh when I found out that this week BTT and T5W had the same theme because it wasn’t planned 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

