T5W Dec. 16th – Books to Read by the Fire (Winter Recs)

Hello everyone!

It’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Books to Read by the Fire a.k.a Winter/Holiday recommendations. I don’t tend to read any holiday themed books so most of these are book that are during Winter and expect lots of snow on covers.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Shiver
by Maggie Stiefvater

Shiver Cover

I’ve seen a few people mention this book but I still had to mention it myself. I read this book a very long time ago and I am looking forward to a re-read soon. This book is about werewolves and their seasonal changes. Our main character always sees a wolf in her backyard during the winter time and I can’t help but want to read this right next to a fireplace.

#4: Frozen Fire
by Tim Bowler

Frozen Fire Cover

I feel like no one besides me has ever read this book. I found this randomly at Barnes and Noble a long long time ago and I inhale read it that day. It’s a very strange book. It’s a contemporary book but with a slight paranormal and thriller aspect. I’m still confused by what it’s actually about so I’m going to re-read it soon. But it does revolve around snow and a mirage sort of image. It’s pretty cool.

#3: The Polar Express
by Chris Van Allsburg

The Polar Express Cover

I obviously had to talk about my favorite childhood winter read. The Polar Express was one of the first books my grandma gifted me and I read it all the time during the month of December. The movie adaptation is also amazing and it has such a special place in my heart.

#2: Snow Like Ashes
by Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes Cover

I think this is also an obvious choice, I mean it has the word Snow on the title and it’s all about the life of Winterian refugees. I really enjoyed this book and I found it to be a very good start to a fantasy trilogy. It has a very interesting world and it fits very well with the winter season.

#1: My True Love Gave to Me
Edited by Stephanie Perkins

My True Love Gave to Me Cover

This is the only holiday themed book that I have ever read and it was amazing. I enjoyed the majority of the short stories that are present in this compilation and they were all very holiday related and themed. If you haven’t read this yet, you definitely should do so this Christmas!

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what books you’d recommend for the holidays. I want to read more themed books but I don’t know where to start. Thanks for reading and see you on my next post!

Send off

 

Leave a Reply

