T5W Dec. 23rd – Series I Want to Start Next Year

Hello everyone!

We are getting down to the last few Top 5 Wednesday posts of the year, isn’t that crazy?

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Series You Want to Start Next Year and because that is just one of the hardest topics to ever happen on top 5 Wednesday, I picked 6 like a good rebel that I am. Most of these are series that I’ve heard talk about so much that I need to get on the bandwagon or series from favorite authors that I haven’t read yet.

SO let’s get started!

#6: Age of Legends
by Kelley Armstrong

Sea of Shadows Cover

Kelley Armstrong is one of my favorite authors and I could not, not mention this series. Honestly, until a few weeks ago, I did not realize how many books she’s actually written that are published. I’ve read two YA trilogies from her and this one is a third which is concluding in 2016. Then she has a YA stand alone coming out next year and all of her adult books that I still haven’t read yet. She’s amazing and I’m making it a goal in my life to read all her books.

#5: Magnus Chase and Trials of Apollo
by Rick Riordan

The Sword of Summer Cover The Hidden Oracle Cover

Uncle Rick is the best at mythology and undeniably my favorite male author. I’ve read all the Percy Jackson series as well as heroes of Olympus but it’s high time that I buckled up and went on another ride with him. I picked these new series because they are related in some ways to the Percy Jackson fam but I still have to read the Kane Chronicles and the crossovers books as well.

#4: Heist Society and Embassy Row
by Ally Carter

Heist Society Cover All Fall Down Cover

One of my favorite series of all time is the Gallagher Girls series by this amazing author. I read it for the second time in 2014 and I still treasure it so much. But I haven’t read more books from her, which to me is insane. So the former is an older trilogy and the latter is her new series set in DC which its second book is coming out next year. She does really great contemporary thrillers with espionage and thieving so I’m really excited to read this books.

#3: Finishing School and the Custard Protocol
by Gail Carriger

Etiquette and Espionage Cover Prudence Cover

Okay, I swear this is the last double choice I’m picking. If you’re new to my blog, you probably missed what I like to call the Month of Carriger. I basically spent an entire month posting reviews about her Parasol Protectorate series and talking about how much I absolutely loved it. And because of that reading only one series from this author is just not okay. So the ones I’m hoping to start is first her Finishing School series which is from the same universe as Parasol Protectorate but years earlier and second the Custard Protocol which is about the main character from Parasol’s daughter and her adventures. Obviously, I need to read them both.

#2: Falling Kingdoms
by Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms Cover

There are so many people who are saying so many amazing things about this series that it’s just getting incredibly ridiculous that I haven’t started it yet. So many booktubers say it’s their favorite series: Lainey (T5W creator), Sam at Thoughts on Tomes, Riley at RileyMarie1197, etc. And so many bloggers talk about this, first and foremost, Jesse from Books at Dawn who I believe is currently re-reading it. I just need to get on this bandwagon and I will be doing so next month during my favorite theme of the year: HIGH FANTASY!

#1: Harry Potter
by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Cover

Yes, I am one of those people who hasn’t read this series yet. I was super intimidated by the size of the later books in the series when I was a kid so I never picked them up and now at 21, I think it’s time to finally sit down and read it. If I don’t, my cousins who are huge potter heads will probably disown me and never speak to me again. I think what I will do is read one Harry Potter book a month and I’ll call it the Potter Challenge. That sounds nice.

So that’s it for my choices this week! Let me know if you’ve read any of these series and what you thought of them. Let me know what series you are dying to start next year. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

30 thoughts on “T5W Dec. 23rd – Series I Want to Start Next Year

  1. I need to read so many of these too. I have to start the Parasol Protectorate series. I own Sea of Shadows and haven’t read it yet, I need to read something by Kelly Armstrong. I REALLY need to start the Falling Kingdoms series and to finish Harry Potter Series (5-7)!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ll be a Potterhead by the end of the year! Best book series ever. 🙂
    I’m contemplating whether to read more of Riordan’s books after finishing Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus. Norse Mythology sounds interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

