Venezuelan Christmas

Hello everyone!

I hope you are all having a great time with your families. Whatever  you are celebrating whether its Christmas or something else, I hope the last two days have been full of laughs and great times.

I’m here today to share a quick little post about how I spent my Christmas.

In most South American/Latin countries, Christmas is celebrated on the 24th. We tend to dress up a lot and we eat dinner very very late and we usually open presents right at midnight.

Last night, my mom, my grandma and I went over to my best friend’s house to spent Christmas Eve with her family. We met last year on December 23rd and not only were we celebrating a second Christmas together, but also one whole year on being not only friends but best friends.

Here’s what we got up to:

   IMG_0076

   IMG_0103

     IMG_0100

  IMG_0102

Though the food didn’t come first, it’s the first thing I’m going to show you. First, we were all drinking something we like to call Tinto de Verano, which is red wine/sangria with 7up/Sprite. It’s quite good you should try it, and this is coming from a non drinker. Then to eat we had potato salad, pineapple and cabbage salad, what we call Vegetable bread which is bread with different kind of vegetables inside and the start of the hour: the Hallaca. Hallaca is our traditional Christmas food. It’s kind of a like a Mexican tamale because it’s made out of flour and it’s filled with three kinds of meat (beef, chicken and pork) as well as raisins, olives, onions and red peppers. My mom had a vegetarian version made specially for the mothers who are non-meat eaters. And then we have pernil which are pieces of pork that are cooked separately and served as side dish.

IMG_0073 IMG_0126

IMG_0107 IMG_0135

IMG_0123

And here we are being super cute and goofy in front of the Christmas tree. The second photo is my mom, my grandma and I. The next one is my best friend Jennifer, her older sister Michelle and I. The one next to that is Michelle and I almost falling into the Christmas tree three times while trying to get that picture. And the last one is my best friend in the whole world smiling in a picture which she usually never does. It was one of the best Christmases I’ve ever had.

So that’s it for this post! I hope you liked getting a peek into my life and my culture. I hope you all have a wonderful holiday season and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

5 thoughts on “Venezuelan Christmas

  1. Your holiday looked to be fantastic, I hope your family has an awesome time over New Year as well 😀

    Tinto de Verano and Hallaca both sounds DELICIOUS, I need to learn where I can get some in Australia 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

