T5W Dec. 30th – Best Books of 2015

Hello everyone!

We are winding down 2015 and today is the last Top 5 Wednesday of the year!

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Best books of 2015. And I am cheating which is a total shocker right? Haha. I like to do my own list of Top books of the year and I was going to do top 15 but because this is the topic for the week I decided to have five here and then tomorrow have the Top 10 post. These are numbers 11 – 15 on my top books list because yes, I am that person who is not afraid to put them in an actual order of favorites.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Ensnared
by A.G. Howard

Ensnared Cover

This is the last book in the Splintered trilogy and I waited an entire year to read it because I was so nervous about how it was going to conclude. I finally took the plunge last month and I was so happy that I was not disappointed! It was just as amazing as the first two books even though it didn’t have as much action. All my favorite elements of the series were there and it’s so bittersweet that it’s over.

#4: The Truth About Forever
by Sarah Dessen

The Truth About Forever Cover

This is the second Sarah Dessen book I ever read and I asolutely adored it. I don’t know what I waited so long to read one of her books considering that I spent years looking at them on the shelves of Barnes and Noble and just never picking them up. There are so many great themes in this book from friendship to loss to family. It was just an amazing reading experience.

#3: The Fire Wish
by Amber Lough

The Fire Wish Cover

This was one the surprises that I had this year. I read this during a RYBSAT readathon and I had added it to be my TBR on Goodreads on a whim because it looked interesting. And it completely blew me away! It wasn’t without it’s problems but what made me love it so much was the real entertainment factor. I was thoroughly sucked into this story and I flew through the book and I am dying to get to the second book.

#2: The Fallen 5 – Armageddon
by Thomas E. Sniegoski

  

This was one of the first series that I started last year. I own the first book in physical copy and it’s such an exciting and action packed series. Everything came to a head in this last book and I was on the edge of my seat the ENTIRE TIME. This is a pretty big book almost 600 pages and I devoured it. I loved how we also got a little wrapping things up kind of epilogue and although I didn’t get everything that I wanted, the ending satisfied all the loose ends so I was happy.

#1: Bitterblue
by Kristin Cashore

 

This is the last book in the Graceling companion trilogy and this was the best one! I loved Graceling the first time I read it and I made it my goal to re-read it and finish the trilogy this year. I loved the first two books but Bitterblue blew them out of the water. It had absolutely everything I loved about the first two books as well as tightening up all the loose ends of the story while still being able to introduce a bunch of new characters. It depresses me that Kristin Cashore hasn’t written anything since this trilogy because her writing style is glorious.

So that’s it for my last T5W post! It’s kind of sad but there’s a whole new year coming soon with lots more where this came from. Let me know if you had some books you wanted to add to your top 10 list and didn’t manage to. Thanks so much for reading and see you on my next post!

Send off

6 thoughts on “T5W Dec. 30th – Best Books of 2015

  1. I’ve been meaning to read Bitterblue and Ensnared for a while now. Unfortunately, I haven’t read any of the other books. I have read Sarah Dessen’s This Lullaby, but it was just good not amazing according to what other people have to say about her. Maybe I’ll have to try one of her other books. Here are my top 5 books of 2016:
    https://readingexperienceswithnora.wordpress.com/2015/12/30/t5w-top-5-books-of-the-year/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love The Truth about Forever. It was one of my favorite of hers besides Lock and Key and This Lullaby. 🙂

    Ahh, the fallen. I have vague memory of reading the first book a long time ago, but never finish the series despite enjoying the first one. I might have to get back into it.

    Thanks for posting this nice list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

