Top 10 Books of 2015

Hello everyone!

I am here today to talk about my top ten favorite books that I read in 2015. And I’m probably one of the last people to share a post like this and that is on purpose! Today is New Year’s Eve and the last day of the year. And I have been reading until this very moment to make sure that the list I am going to make, is the right list! Who knows? I could read a five star book in the last two days of the year and I don’t want to post a list and then want to change it after reading another book.

Because of that I wait until the very last moment to make this list and today is the day where I will share with you the awesome books that you should be reading ASAP. I will be sharing the books, their Goodreads link, my review if I have one and two sentences for why I love them.

SO let’s get started!

Before I start talking about the books, I wanted to share some of my reading stats of my 2015 reading year.

Total Books Read: 119 (107 books, 12 novellas)
Total Pages Read: 38, 544 pages
Shortest Book: Assassin Study (15 pages)
Longest Book: The Queen of the Tearling (643 pages) (review)
Average Read Pages: 328 pages
Average Rating: 4.1 stars
5 stars: 36 books
4.5 stars: 13 books
4 stars: 47 books
3.5 stars: 7 books
3 stars: 12 books
2 stars: 2 book
1 star: 1 book

Genres Read:
Contemporary – 26 books (2 Thrillers, 3 Realistic Fiction, 21 Romance)
Paranormal – 23 books
High Fantasy – 15 books
New Adult – 14 books
Dystopian – 12 books
Retellings – 8 books
Steampunk – 6 books
Historical Fiction – 5 books
LGBTQ+/Mermaids – 3 books
Children’s Classics/Science Fiction/Zombies – 1 book

Authors Read: 64
4 Male
60 Female
2 Australian, 3 Canadian, 2 British, 1 Jamaican, 56 American (1 Iranian American, 3 Asian American)

So as we can all tell, I need to diversify my reading a little bit. I need to read more books from male authors as well as from authors not of my particular descent. If you have any books that fit the bill, make sure you comment down below your recommendations!

Now onto my favorite books of the year! I am the kind of person that will rank my books from most favorite to not least favorite but still a definite ranking from 1 to 10. So I will be counting backwards from the last to my ultimate favorite book of the entire year!

Disclaimer: All these books received 5 stars from me.

#10: None of the Above
by I.W. Gregorio

None of the Above Cover

GoodreadsReview

This is one of the books that I read last month but it wasted no time in capturing my heart and making me fall in love with it and it’s message. It’s not the greatest written book I’ve ever read, but it’s the most important book I read  this year. I have to recommend it and shout it from the roof top just to hope that people will read it and be better informed.

#9: Soulless (Parasol Protectorate #1)
by Gail Carriger

Print

GoodreadsReview

I think my love for this book and the series that follows is the worst kept secret where my blog in concerned. I started reading this back in July with my two best friends in our little book club and I absolutely adored it. So when September came and my month of Steampunk arrived with it, I decided  to finish the entire series and there are no regrets. Please read this!

#8: Just One Day (Just One Day #1)
by Gayle Forman

Just One Day Cover

Goodreads

I read this book back in February and I was completely shocked with how invested I became with the story. I don’t usually read contemporary (despite what my statistics this year tells  you) but I absolutely fell in love with the characters, and the places and the love. This duology is incredible to be quite honest.

#7: The Fixer (The Fixer #1)
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Fixer Cover

GoodreadsSoundtrack to my Book

Again, another book club read that absolutely blew me away. I’d only ever read one book by Jennifer but quite a few years ago and I was completely taken by the plot and the characters. It was exciting and fast paced and generally kept me on my toes until the end. I am anxiously anticipating the release of the sequel.

#6: Everything Leads to You
by Nina LaCour

Everything Leads to You Cover

Goodreads

I feel like I’m going to be repeating myself on this entire post, but this book really took me by surprise! I added it to my February TBR just because the cover looked pretty and it’s so much more than that. There’s friendship and family and acceptance and opportunities and I just loved it so so much.

#5: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)
by Sarah J. Maas

 Heir of Fire Cover

Goodreads

Since I started my blog, I have not expressed my love for this High Fantasy series. I binge read all the books that were out in January and all of them to be honest are five stars for me. The reason that I picked only Heir of Fire to have on my list is because I feel like this is where we see the most growth of the main character. It’s hard and it’s painful and it takes quite awhile but the Celaena that comes out is ten times stronger than the one that came into Heir of Fire.

#4: The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight #1)
by Melissa Grey

The Girl at Midnight Cover

Goodreads

This was one of the first books for review that I ever got from NetGalley and I was so excited and so pumped only because I thought the cover was just so cute and you know what? The inside was even better! There was action, and funny banter, and a huge giant plot twist. I absolutely adored this book and I am dyingggg, dyingggg for the sequel to come out, especially because it comes out on my birthday!

#3: Poison Study (The Chronicles of Ixia #1)
by Maria V. Snyder

Poison Study Cover

GoodreadsReview

Okay, so this one could be considered cheating because the first time I read it I was in 8th grade BUT I reread it after so many years in January and I fell in love. Again. Yelena is one of my favorite female characters of all time. She’s fierce, and independent and she makes things happen for herself. She’s quiet and that’s awesome. I can’t wait to be able to start reading the new trilogy from her point of view.

#2: The Archived (The Archived #1)
by Victoria Schwab

The Archived Cover 1

GoodreadsReview

Yes, I am using another book club pick for my list and I am not ashamed especially because this one is the best one, it was our first book that we read together and we formed our little friendship club. And it is such an amazing book too! This is the kind of book that keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. You don’t know who to trust or what to believe or even understand how things end up happening the way they do. It’s so thrilling and I adore it from the very depths of my soul.

AND MY FAVORITE BOOK OF THE YEAR IS
#1: These Shallow Graves
by Jennifer Donnelly

These Shallow Graves Cover

GoodreadsReview

YES! This was an ARC that I got from NetGalley and I feel so blessed because this is an amazing book! It’s all about feminism and strength and choosing your own way and doing what you love and standing up for  what you believe in. I’ve read books by Jennifer Donnelly before but this stand alone blows them out of the water. It’s mature and intense but there’s also sweet and cute parts. It shows a real moment in our history where women could not decide how they wanted to live and I think it’s so important not only to show the girls that fought to help change that but to see how far we’ve actually come and to gain the courage to keep the fight going.

 So that’s it for my favorite books of 2015! Let me know if you’ve read any of them and what you thought. I am so excited for 2016 to begin to find even more books to add to my favorites list. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

29 thoughts on “Top 10 Books of 2015

  1. Oh I really want to read another Gayle Foreman book. I read I Was Here and enjoyed it so I want to discover more of her writing. Also your number 1 book, These Shallow Graves, sounds equally enticing. Argh! So many books! Haha you seem to have a pretty diverse range of genres if you ask me. I’ve read like YA fantasy and YA and NA contemporary this year and not much else… 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah! A Gayle Forman book! ^.^ I recently read ‘If I Stay’ by her and I totally know that feeling of ‘oh my goodness I love this!’ even though it’s contemporary. I think it’s one of the first contemps I read, but it’s nice to know that all her books are equally as good. I’ll have to add that one to my TBR. ^.^

    ‘Soulless’ sounds good! I haven’t read any Steampunk yet, but I LOVE the cosplay style and imagery. So, I definitely need to dabble in it. Thank you for the recommendation!

    P.s. Nice book count for the year! Everyone is definitely putting me to shame! Hee hee! Way to go! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

