December ’15 Wrap Up

Hello everyone!

Today I’m doing my December reading wrap up. I am actually quite disappointed with how many books I managed to read this month. I was so excited to read some awesome books but then I had dengue fever the first two weeks of December which you would think “sick, in bed, more reading” but I was so drained from fever and just regular exhaustion, I spent most of the time sleeping. And then obviously came the holidays and I traveled for a few days, so my year didn’t finish up with as many books as I had wanted it to.

Here’s what I read in December:

Glitches (The Lunar Chronicles #0.5)
by Marissa Meyer

  

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was just a cute little novella about Cinder’s beginnings. It was interesting to see her relationship with her adoptive family be fore reading the actual book but it wasn’t particularly exciting.

The Little Android (The Lunar Chronicles #0.6)
by Marissa Meyer

  

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Again, another cute little novella from the Lunar Chronicles. This is a retelling of the Little Mermaid which is my FAVORITE old school Disney movie and I was a little apprehensive to see her retelling. It ripped my heart out and stomped on it so hard, I died but because it was so short and quick, I only gave it three stars.

Ensnared (Splintered #3)
by A.G. Howard

Ensnared Cover

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the final book in the Splintered trilogy which I put off for the entire year since it came out in January 2015 because I was so scared of what would happen and how things would be resolved. I can say while I’m not ecstatic with the ending, I agree with the way Anita did it, it was the only way for the story to finish. It still sent me on a ride even though it wasn’t as action packed as the other books. I am so excited to read Untamed when I get nostalgic for this series in the near future.

Maid of Secrets (Maids of Honor #1)
by Jennifer McGowan

Maid of Secrets Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was my TBR jar pick of them month and I was so happy about it because I wanted to read it for so long. This was such a fun read. I felt like I was getting the behind the scenes of Elizabeth I’s reign in England and that the plot was like the untold story of the comings and goings of the castle and the people in the kingdom. It just felt so real, not like a work of fiction. I am really excited to continue on with the series.

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)
by Marissa Meyer

Cinder Cover

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

You obviously know what this book is. I liked it. I did. But the problem is that I found it incredibly predictable. I mean it was very bad. I don’t know if it’s me, because lately I’ve figured out plot twists or plot points of books really easily, but I knew within a quarter of the book, the giant plot twist at the end. Despite that though, I loved the correlations and the contrast between the plot and the original story and it was very entertaining.

The Queen’s Army (The Lunar Chronicles #1.5)
by Marissa Meyer

The Queen's Army Cover

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Again, another Lunar Chronicles novella. This one was just plain creepy. It was terrifying but at the same time addicting to learn more about Levana’s plans and the way she handles her… planet haha. The point of view was very interesting and detailed and it was a very good set up for the start of Scarlet.

Scarlet (Scarlet #1)
by A.C. Gaughen

Scarlet 2 Cover

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Not the Scarlet you thought was coming huh? Haha. This is the first book in a Robin Hood retelling trilogy. I really enjoyed the story. It was very similar to the original fairy tale/folklore but with very specific and interesting twists. I loved the main character and her personality. She was fiesty and tough and kicked ass left and right. The only thing that turned me off was the writing style. It’s very peculiar not only because of the times but also because of the main character’s personality, but it was a hit or miss kind of thing. Sometimes it worked, most of the time it didn’t and it was distracting.

Strands of Bronze and Gold
by Jane Nickerson

Strands of Bronze and Gold Cover

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It’s so disappointing to read a book you don’t like right at the end of the year. Right from the beginning I knew this book was not going to be for me. The writing turn me off right off the bat, it was wordy, way too descriptive and it read so so slowly. For a book that’s not even 400 pages, it took foreverrr for me to read it, more than two weeks which is unheard of for me. Towards the end it got better, but it didn’t make up for the torture it was for me to get through the rest toward the end.

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2)
by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet Cover

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed this one much better than the first one. I loved how the two plot lines interconnected. Cinder was much better in this one, I connected with her a lot more. Scarlet was okay, I loved her tenacity and determination and Wolf as a character entrigued me with his complexity. Despite that Thorne stole the show. He’s hilarious and I can’t wait to read more of him in the next book.

So that’s it for this wrap up! Let me know if you have read any of these books and what you thought. I am having the hardest time picking my first read of 2016 between these three: Queen of Shadows, Cress and an e-ARC from NetGalley called Burning Midnight. Comment down below and help me pick! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

14 thoughts on “December ’15 Wrap Up

  1. Oh no! I’m disappointed to hear about the writing style for ‘Scarlet’ because it sounds so good! I am trying to get more into retellings and that’s the only one I’ve seen of Robin Hood before. It should be interesting now… :/

    I, also, see you’re mildly obsessed with the Cinder series, hmm? :p *hasn’t read any of them yet*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cinder is INCREDIBLY predictable, I don’t think anyone were surprised at the end XD At first I thought the reader was supposed to know, but then the ending came and it seemed like we were supposed to be surprised and that was just laughable. Glad to see you enjoyed Scarlet more, maybe I’ll pick it up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

