2016 Personal, Reading and Blogging Resolutions

Hello everyone!

Today I’m going to talk about my resolutions for 2016. Not only blogging and reading wise, but also some personal ones so you guys can get to know me a little bit better.

So I’m probably one of the last people to do one of these kinds of posts. But in my defense, I really had to think about goals that I could accomplish but also, things that challenge me and push me out of my comfort zone.

SO let’s get started!

Personal Resolutions

  • Exercise at least twice a week

I have a very fast metabolism and for most people that would be awesome, but it makes it so I can’t gain a lot of weight. Right now, because of the dengue fever I had in December, I’m extremely underweight. Not only do I not like how that looks on my body, but it’s also dangerous. So 2016 is the year to get healthy and for me to have a healthy body weight, I need to start exercising. That is something that I hate to do because I hate having to wake up early and I have to do it in the morning because I work in the afternoons, but I am going to start because my health is the most important thing.

  • Learn Italian

Here’s a new fact about me: I love anything Italian. The food, the country, the monuments in said country and one of the resolutions that I’ve made every year is to learn how to speak Italian. Obviously, since it’s on this list, I haven’t done it yet. I’m probably going to use the app Duolingo which I’ve tried out before but I wasn’t diligent with it so it didn’t work. This year it will work!

  • Make more friends

I know this sounds really weird but let me explain. I moved to Venezuela three years ago after spending most of my teenage years in San Diego. When you’re 13-18, I think, is when you make those life long friendships that will carry you through. Obviously, college is also a good place, but even then you want to go hang out with your high school friends when you come home for the holidays. Everyone here has that, except for me, because I didn’t grow up here. Don’t get scared! I do have friends, but a small few which means if they’re busy, I have no plans. So I want to branch out and meet new people so I can have things to do besides work and blog.

  • Go places where I have to dress up

This kind of goes along with the first one. I want to have more friends that like to go out at night. I love to dance and one of my favorite things is going to clubs to dance and have fun with my friends. But my friends aren’t really into that scene and it doesn’t happen often. And I have lots of awesome night style dresses and huge high heels that I need to wear often if not my mom will give them away. I CAN’T GIVE THEM UP!

Reading Resolutions

  • Read 120 books

In 2015, I managed to read 119 books from a goal of 100. So it doesn’t seem like that big of a stretch to me to try and shoot for 120 in 2016. Who knows that the year will bring but I hope this year is light and fluffy with lots of downtime haha.

  • Read at least 2 Classics

For May of 2015, my theme for the month was classics. I read one. Mostly because I realized that reading classics on Kindle is very, very hard. Specially Charles Dickens’ A Tale of Two Cities even though it is one of my favorites. So this year I want to try to read at least two and one of them will hopefully be Frankenstein by Mary Shelley which I own in paperback. Wish me luck!

  • Finish 5 series that I’ve already started

I currently have 61 unfinished series. These range from series that are not completed, series I started toward the end of the year and series that I’ve put off for a long time even though they are already completed. So my goal is to get to at least five of those series that I’ve been putting off because every time I start a new one, that number just keeps growing and growing and I hate leaving things unfinished.

  • Start the series I shared on T5W ‘Series I Want to Start in 2016’

This one is pretty self-explanatory. I want to start the series that I said I wanted to start. A lot of the times I say I want to do something but I never end up doing it so instead of just leaving that post up as a reminder, I’m holding myself accountable and making it a resolution for the year as well. Here is the post if you want to see it.

  • Continue participating in read-a.thons

For 2015, one of my resolutions was to participate in read-a-thons and I did it! I participated in Read-Your-Bookshelf-A-Thon Round 5, Rainbow Read-a-thon, and the Anti-Bullying Week Read-a-thon. It was so much fun and I read a lot more books than I thought I would have thanks to participating. So I want to continue that in 2016. Hopefully starting with RYBSAT Round 7 which is this month.

Blogging Resolutions

  • Create a discussion feature

Discussions for me are really hard. Hard to structure, hard to think of what to say and how to say it so it correlates with what’s on my mind. But those kinds of posts are really important, specially if you use them to open up broader conversations. On Booktube, I had a series called Let’s Talk About that was specific to discussion videos but I’ve seen a blogger who has that title for theirs so I want to start something new and fresh though I will revisit some of the topics I used for my videos. I just have to think of a name…

  • Create a tag

This also goes back to my video making days. For one of my 2015 resolutions, I said that I wanted to do a tag. That did not happen. So I put it down as a goal for 2016. I feel like tags are a really great way to connect with other bloggers and to have a fun and interactive discussion about what book you picked for what question and why. I hope I can make one that’s really creative and fun.

  • Work on my graphics/blog style

I feel like this is something that I’ll be doing constantly no matter how long I spend blogging. Before the year ended, I’d already changed my blog from the original format I had it in. But I still feel unsatisfied. One of my goals is to work on graphics and the overall style of my blog. I just don’t know how I’m going to do that yet. I feel like the things I see in my head, I can’t translate on my Photoshop page and it’s really frustrating. If anyone has any tips or tricks, please let me know!

  • Comment on other blog posts every day

This is something that I already implemented since I started this blog. I have the WordPress app so one of the first things I do, after checking my email, is check the app to see my notifications and to see the posts that popped up while I was sleeping. I believe my commenting is what got my blog to 99 followers in less than 5 months because it shows your presence, that you read their post and want to acknowledge that work. It doesn’t mean that I’m going to comment on every post on my feed because sometimes you just don’t have anything to say. But at least the ones that I see right when I wake up, I want to make sure to share something even if it’s only a hello.

So that’s it for my resolutions this year! Let me know if you have any in common, or the one you feel will be most challenging from your list. Thanks for reading and see you on my next post!

Ā Send off

19 thoughts on “2016 Personal, Reading and Blogging Resolutions

  1. Haha, same with the working out! I just need to get in shape, because I feel like dying after I run half a mile, lol.
    Ooh, that would be so cool if you learn Italian. I’ve always wanted to learn that. šŸ˜€
    I would HIGHLY suggest against reading Frankenstein. It is my least favorite book in the world. >_>
    I plan on starting a discussion feature on my blog too! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also want to work in my design! Yesterday I changed somethings. I have to change and add some social media icons and I’ll leave it like it is. It was so much work! It’s hard to find a style or theme! I admire those amzing blogs! I also want to do some Discussion posts. I know I’ll do them! I’m a little afraid because it seems like a big thing but once I do the first one, I can improve them! Good luck with your goals!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m participating in the 2016 Discussion Challenge this year. I agree with discussions being important, but I just never seem to know what to say or talk about. So this year I plan on posting at least 1-3 discussions a month. Hopefully I can stick with it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sara! I am going to be your workout buddy! It’s settled! We will chat about your workouts weekly (because I, too, need to get back into working out. Though, I have the opposite problem as you. :p)

    Yay! We can talk about languages, too! I’m not huge on Italian, but I’m attempting to learn Japanese and I hope to continue in French soon, too. ^.^

    I like your third resolution and believe I need to do this as well. I have an odd work schedule, which means that I don’t have as many opportunities to make friends, but I hope to change this in the future.

    Man! I totally wished you lived nearby because I would DEFINITELY hit up the clubs and go dancing with you. My friends are the same. Why do you and I live so far apart? :p

    Oo! Reading goals sound like fun! If you take part in a read-a-thon, please let me know. I would like to take part, but I never know where to find them. So, I look forward to seeing what you’re participating in so I can participate with you. ^.^

    Ah! I love all your blog goals, too! ^.^ I would really love to take part in discussion posts, but I’m afraid I don’t have the time for them with my current blog schedule and how busy 2016 is going to be. However, I do like the idea of defining my blog style/graphics some more. I don’t know what my blog theme is any more and I think it may be time to figure it out. We can explore our blogs together. ^.^

    I look forward to supporting you in all that you do through the year, Sara! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

