2016 Reading Challenges

Hello everyone!

I am here today to share my second post about my goals for 2016. This one is about all the reading challenges that I am participating in. It’s the first time ever that I’ve signed up for reading challenges before and I’m so excited!

I have a few challenges that some other bloggers are hosting as well as ones I’ve created and set up for myself and one that is more like a buddy read with a blogging friend.

SO let’s get started!

2016 Goodreads Reading Challenge

2016 Goodreads Reading Challenges

You all know about this. Some people are abstaining this year but I really love and enjoy this challenge because it’s so easy to keep track of all you’re reading while interacting with other people. So for this year I’m hoping to read 120 books!

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge

This is a challenge that I made up for myself. I realized at the end of 2015 that while I had 254 new releases that I wanted to read, I read only 23 of them, which when you try to percentage that out, which I won’t, that’s really low. So I created this challenge to force myself to read at least one new release from that month every month. Hope it happens.

Potter Challenge

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Cover

My number one series that I wanted to start in 2016 is Harry Potter. I have not read it yet, I know, I know. So I am hoping to read a book a month and my lovely friend Aldii @ perfectioninbooks is going to join me on this quest! We are most likely going to start in February as well as create a co-post that we still have to figure out but it’ll be awesome!

2016 Debut Author Challenge

DAC2016S

This is a challenge hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl and it’s all about reading books from authors that are debuting themselves. I find it really hard to notice when a book is a debut specially on Goodreads, so most of the time I don’t really notice, but I do feel it’s important to support up and coming authors. So I decided to join this challenge and the great thing about it is that there’s a Goodreads group for the challenge as well as a list of debut books so I can add as many as I want to read!

Finishing the Series Reading Challenge

Final 2 Large

I have 56 unfinished series that I need to read. That’s a huge problem. So I decided what better way to try and get those done than joining this challenge! It’s hosted by Bea @ Bea’s Book Nook and there’s different levels you can try to reach depending on how many series you’re hoping to finish. I’m shooting for Level 3 (Experienced) – Complete 3 – 6 series which is not that bad to finish in an entire year. Hopefully it’ll be more than that.

Around the World Challenge 2016

AroundTheWorld2016

This is one of the coolest challenges that I could find! It’s hosted by Carina @ All About Books and it’s really hard to explain so I’m going to quote her post here: “The goal of the Around the World challenge is to visit as many different places in the world through books, especially places that are rather rare, and not the kind of settings you see in 95% of all the books you read. We’re are going to do this by creating a google map where every pin on the map stands for one book. The goal is to have as many pins as possible and they shouldn’t be very close to each other but spread all over.” DOESN’T THAT SOUND COOL? Luckily she has a guide on how to set up this map which I still have to do but I am so excited to see how I do in this.

So those are all the challenges I signed up for this year! Let me know if we have any in common. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

20 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenges

  1. LOVE the debut and finishing series challenges! There are so many new authors coming out and it’s a great way to get them noticed and read something fresh and new. And I have too many unfinished series that I need to pick up on. Great Challenges!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

