ARC Review – Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh

Book Review - Burning Midnight

Burning Midnight Cover

Burning Midnight

Author: Will McIntosh

Expected Publication: February 2nd, 2016

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: e-ARC, 214 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Science Fiction

Read: January 2016

Will McIntoshGoodreads

I received an e-ARC of this book from Delacorte Press and Random House Children’s via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

3 and a half Stars

Synopsis
Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn’t pay much—Alex Holliday’s stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers—but it helps him and his mom make the rent. No one knows where the brilliant-colored spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at math, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement—and the more expensive the sphere.
When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. One day they find a Gold—a color no one has ever seen. And when Alex Holliday learns what they have, he will go to any lengths, will use all of his wealth and power, to take it from them.
There’s no question the Gold is priceless, but what does it actually do? None of them is aware of it yet, but the fate of the world rests on this little golden orb. Because all the world fights over the spheres, but no one knows where they come from, what their powers are, or why they’re here.

Critically

Plot – 3 out of 5 stars
First off I have to say that this book was definitely not what I imagined it was going to be. There was some action and it was generally kind of creepy, especially toward the end. There was mystery and traveling. There were parts that were boring and it kind of dragged but overall it was enjoyable.

Writing – 3 out of 5 stars
It was simple and very descriptive. It took some time for it to absorb me and really catch my attention but that may have been the combination with the plot as well. It was very slow paced which I don’t usually mind but in this book it was a bit annoying. Because of it, the writing felt dull and it kind of lacked that extra umph to suck you into the story.

Characters – 3 out of 5 stars
Unfortunately this was one of those books where I would’ve rather had a different narrator than there was. The main character, Sully, is a boy who was cheated by a big time millionaire and is kind of obsessed with the fact and all the bad things that happened to him afterward. He’s desperate to make money and while sweet and helpful to the general plot, he was kind of dull. He fell flat to me. I never really connected with him and his motivations. It was more like alright kid, let’s see where you go. He was super easy going and chill most of the time which is a contrast to his story. Hunter, the female protagonist, was so amazing! I would’ve loved to have seen this story from her point of view. She’s stubborn and determined. She is such a survivor in life and so so strong. She’s just as desperate as Sully but because of her personality it comes off in a different way. I probably would’ve loved this book if she would’ve been the one to tell the story.

Emotionally

This book was just kind of average to me. It didn’t blow me away but it did keep me interested and reading.

The plot is interesting but not exciting. We follow Sully who sells spheres to make ends meet. Spheres showed up on Earth out of nowhere and when you “burn” them, they enhance something about you. No one knows where they came from, or how they do what they do. He meets Hunter, and they create a partnership to find spheres to sell. This is the gist of it. It takes half of the book to get to what the synopsis talks about, no joke. The beginning just felt like a waste of time. There was nothing driving the plot, it was just monotone day to day kind of things. It could’ve been shortened a lott more to make the story much faster and more engaging. Once we finally to the part where the blurb comes in, it was not what I was expecting. I was a bit more invested in what was happening but still disappointed. I thought I was going to be reading an action-packed, science fiction thriller with a hot pursuit and that’s not what I got. The reveal at the end about this mystery of the spheres was intriguing and really freaking creepy but by then it was over too soon and wrapped up too quickly. If the beginning was shorter and the end longer, I would’ve enjoyed this book a lot more than I did.

Sully was okay too. I mean, it was very hard to connect with him and to feel his motivations. He just fell flat. There were things to like. He’s very family and friend oriented, he would do anything for them. He’s genuine and strong and honest. He does the best he can with the things that happen to him. But my reaction to him was just like um, okay. There was no feeling towards me. I didn’t feel any connection at all. Which is awful because he’s the narrator.

I’ll say it again, Hunter would’ve been a way better narrator. Not only because of her backstory but because of the role she plays in the plot. They side characters are great and I am happy to say that there is diversity represented.

One point that really bothered me was a specific plot point in which a betrayal happened. I was shocked and outraged but it was never resolved in anyway between the characters involved. It doesn’t move the plot in anyway but if you’re going to add it in at least take the time to finish it up.

Overall, an average read for me. Not bad but not great either. I recommend that you read it for yourself to see what you think. You might enjoy it more if you’re a bigger fan of science fiction than I am.

So that’s it for this review! Let me know what you think and if you’ll be checking out this book. Thanks so much for reading and see you on my next post.

Send off

One thought on “ARC Review – Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh

Leave a Reply

