T5W Jan. 27th – Disappointing Eye Candy

T5W Jan 27

Hello everyone!

I’m here to do the last Top 5 Wednesday of the month!

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey (YouTube, Goodreads) and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Most Disappointing Eye Candy. Basically books that were beautiful but the inside, the story was not good. Awful you could say. The good part is that I didn’t have a lot of options when it came to this list and the bad part is even with that I did manage to fill my list. Or is that a good thing as well? I’m not sure.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Inamorata
by Megan Chance

Inamorata Cover

Gorgeous cover, right? I thought so too which is why I added it to my TBR. But it ended up not being what I was expecting. This isn’t a huge disappointment which is the reason why it’s number five but it still is a book that makes me question my thoughts on it all the time. I didn’t know it was adult when I started reading it and boy did it take my by surprise. If you’d like to see more of my thoughts on it, see my review here.

#4: Finale
by Becca Fitzpatrick

Finale Cover

This isn’t the best cover ever but I was a fan way back when this series first came out. I re-read the first two books and then finished the series in 2014 and I hate this book. With a giant passion. This got 1 star from me because I felt like it was completely and totally pointless. This could’ve easily been a trilogy, no, even better a duology. I would’ve tolerated it a bit more I think if that would’ve been the case.

#3: Strands of Bronze and Gold
by Jane Nickerson

Strands of Bronze and Gold Cover

I recently shared a review for this book, 2 stars from me, its here if you want to see it. I picked up this book for the cover, and I did not like it which is so disappointing. I was expecting an exciting, thrilling death plot and all I got was a wimpy girl who in the end didn’t actually manage to do anything remotely good to save herself.

#2: Broken Symmetry
by Dan Rix

Broken Symmetry Cover

I like to regularly check out free ebooks on Amazon and when this one caught my eye, I was so excited to read it. But God, did I hate it. So much. The worst part about this, beside the great cover to an awful story, was the fact that the idea for the story was so good! It could’ve been so great! But the writing was strange, the characters were annoying and nothing made any sense. So disappointing.

#1: Evertrue
by Brodi Ashton

Evertrue Cover

Isn’t this just so beautiful? Unfortunately, it houses one of the worst main characters I’ve ever had the displeasure of reading about. I hate this book so much. It’s the last book in the Everneath trilogy and everything that I did not want to happen in this book, happened. I’ve never come across another book that made me feel like that and it just sucked so much. Again, this could’ve been so good. Not only disappointing, but heartbreaking.

So that’s it for my most disappointing eye candy. Let me know what you think of my choices and what your most disappointing eye candies. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

4 thoughts on “T5W Jan. 27th – Disappointing Eye Candy

    • The first one was great! I really enjoyed it and I was looking forward to reading more. But once I got to the second one, everything went downhill. Everyone is different so I say give it a chance but be aware that it can be a let down

      Like

Leave a Reply

