January ’16 Wrap Up

Wrap Up January Logo

Hello everyone!

Today I am doing my January wrap up. Unfortunately, I didn’t read as many books as I was hoping to this month, although the ones I did read were all pretty solid. I read a total of 12 books, 10 novels and 2 novellas which is the same amount as I read last year at the same time. Three of those books are in another wrap up because I also got a little crazy and thought it was a good idea to be part of a readathon this month even though my TBR had over 17 books on it already. If you haven’t seen it, click here to see my wrap up for the books I read during #RYBSAT round 7.

Here’s what I read January:

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)
by Sarah J. Mass

Queen of Shadows Cover

5 Stars

 Yes, that’s right. I finally dived into this giant of a book and I loved it! It’s such a relief to say that because I was so scared of being angry or disappointed by the changes that happen in this book but they didn’t really bother me. I’m going to share a review for this book later in the week so look out for that if you want to see more in depth thoughts.

Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1)
by Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms Cover

4 Stars

I buddy read this book with my friend Gervan because I was planning on reading it and he wanted to so we decided to read it together. To be honest, I was a little disappointed with it. The hype is enormous for this book and I was expecting a lot more than I got. I was kind of bored for 50% of the book and it was annoying how it took so long to be pulled in by the characters and the plot. But I will be continuing with the series.

Burning Midnight
by Will McIntosh

Burning Midnight Cover

3 and a half Stars

I got an e-ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review which you can read here. Unfortunately, this book just fell a bit flat to me. I didn’t connect with the main character, the plot dragged for the first half of the book and I did not see the reveal of the mystery coming and it turned me off a little bit. I have a lot of thoughts so check out my review!

The Score (Off-Campus #3)
by Elle Kennedy

The Score Cover

5 Stars

I LOVE THIS! This series, this book and this couple, they’re all amazing! It’s so great to stumble upon a New Adult series that is not exaggerated or overly dramatic. This is probably my favorite book of this series so far. It’s hilarious and real and honest and sexy. All the great things from this genre without all the annoying traits. I can’t wait until the next book comes out later this year. I NEED IT!

Fire Study (The Chronicles of Ixia #3)
by Maria V. Snyder

Fire Study Cover

5 Stars

This is the last book in the Study trilogy and I loved it so much! I’ve always said this was one of my favorite series and I’d only ever read the first book. Now I can say this is one of my favorite series and feel completely sure about it because I’ve read all the books. This series has the best heroine ever, Yelena is beast. There needs to be more fans of this series so pleasee give it a chance. If you don’t like it, you can yell at me haha.

Power Study (The Chronicles of Ixia #3.5)
by Maria V. Snyder

Power Study Cover

4 Stars

Usually I tend to give short stories/novellas three stars because although I enjoy them, I don’t feel like they deserve more stars because they’re so short. Except for this little cutie because it has one of the best POVs I’ve ever read from one of the best characters from this series. It just made me love them more.

Ice Study (The Chronicles of Ixia #3.6)
by Maria V. Snyder

Ice Study Cover

3 Stars

Again, its a novella so it’s three stars but it was still nice. I liked to see more of how life is after Fire Study specially for Yelena and Valek cause I love them.

Storm Glass (Glass #1, The Chronicles of Ixia #4)
by Maria V. Snyder

Storm Glass Cover

4 Stars

It hurts so hard to say that I was a little bit disappointed with this book. I loved the plot and the writing style. Maria is one of my favorite authors and I adore the way she tells stories. But her characters which is one of my favorite things about the Study trilogy fell flat to me in this book. We meet the main character in the first series but I was expecting her point of view to be a little different than it really was. And unfortunately, the romance also bothered me. Hopefully the next books are better.

Fangirl
by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl Cover

3 Stars

God, I was so disappointed with this. I was so excited and there is so much hype for this book and this author and I just was not into it. I didn’t hate it which is why its not two stars, but I was just not blown away. I haven’t hated a character so much until this book and at the same time been so enamored with another one. And the ending was very underwhelming.

 So that’s it for this wrap up! Let me know if you’ve read any of these book and what you thought of them. I really wanted to get farther along in the series that I picked to read but I will be continuing on next month onto second books. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

19 thoughts on “January ’16 Wrap Up

  1. OH YES TO ALL THE SNYDER BOOKS. The Glass series kind of blows, honestly. I didn’t like it and I really love Snyder’s other books. However,read them ALL! Then you can finally be (mostly) caught up and can start reading Shadow Study and Night Study. n____n.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked Fangirl, but I wasn’t as osessed or in love with it as other people is. I don’t think I’ll ever read it again but, who knows? You read a lot of Maria V Snyder’s books! I just need to continue them too this year! Don’t know when that will happen but I want to!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

