February ’16 TBR – Adult Contemporary Theme

TBR Logo February

Hello everyone!

I am here today to talk about the books I’ll be reading this month. I tend to read contemporary in February mostly because of Valentine’s Day (even though I hate the holiday) because it just puts me into that sort of mood. So this month I decided that my theme would be Adult Contemporary which is something that I’ve tried before and not a lot and there’s a lot of books that I want to read from this genre.

And I also have some books that I want to read from series that I started in December or January that I hope to continue this month.

Here are the books I’m hoping to read this month:

First Order of Business:
Life on the Level (On the Verge #3)
by Zoraida Cordova

Life on the Level Cover

If you haven’t seen my #RYBSAT wrap up, then you probably don’t know how deeply in love I am with the On the Verge series. I read the first two books for that readathon and I absolutely loved them. I requested the third book on a whim while reading the first and as soon as I finished reading the second I found out that I was approved for this book and I AM SO EXCITED! This comes out late this month so it’ll probably be the first book I read. Look out for reviews for these three books!

Goodreads

TBR Jar Pick:
The Taking
by Kimberly Derting

The Taking Cover

Yeah, I failed. I didn’t manage to read this book last month so I’m going to try my best to read it this month. I used to cheat and just pick another book from my jar but I’m going to be good this year! I swear haha.

Goodreads

Monthly Book Club:
A Madness So Discreet
by Mindy McGinnis

A Madness So Discreet Cover

Unfortunately, last month we didn’t have a huge agreement over Fangirl, actually only two of us finished it so this month we wanted to try something a little different. Gervan picked this book and it looks quite interesting and its also awesome that its a standalone because I can’t have more unfinished series in my life. So cross your fingers that this is a good one!

Goodreads

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
Revenge and The Wild
by Michelle Modesto

Revenge and the Wild Cover

This is one of the most anticipated books I’ve been waiting for this year. A few of the bloggers I follow have gotten ARCs and I’ve seen a lot of great reviews of this lately. Even some of the tougher book reviewers I’m friends with on Goodreads have said good things so this is the 2016 release that I want to read as soon as it comes out this month.

Goodreads

Potter Challenge:
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Cover

One of the reading goals I set up for myself this year was to start and finish the entire Harry Potter series. So this month I am starting with the first book and I am so excited because my friend Aldii @ Perfection in Books is going to buddy read it with me! We even got sorted into houses and we’re going to be doing super cool posts at some point that have to do with this series.

Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Cress by Marissa Meyer
Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes
Sea Glass by Maria V. Snyder

Cress Cover  Rebel Spring Cover  Sea Class Cover

I am not going to keep piling up unfinished series. No more. I have over 60 and it’s not going to be bigger than that. So since I started these series in the last two months, I’m going to continue reading them this month and then the next until I get caught up or finish them. God, so many books.

Goodreads   Goodreads   Goodreads

Boycotts and Barflies
by Victoria Michaels

Boycotts and Barflies Cover

You’re going to see a trend when I start talking about these books. This is a reinvented published Twilight fanfiction that I absolutely loved when I first read. I can’t wait to see how it is now and how it changed from the original. The cover is also super cute and interesting in my opinion.

Goodreads

Cocktail Series #1, #2, #3, #4 and #4.5
Wallbanger, Rusty Nailed, Screwdrivered, Mai Tai’d Up and Last Callby Alice Clayton

Wallbanger Cover  Rusty Nailed Cover  Screwdrivered Cover

Mai Tai'd Up Cover  Last Call Cover

If you’re into adult contemporary, you’ve probably heard of this series before. What you might not have heard is that this also used to be a Twilight fanfiction. It was renewed and reinvented and then continued. The original is hilarious and super sexy and I’m really excited to see what this series has to offer now.

Goodreads

P.S. I Love You and Where Rainbows End
by Cecelia Ahern

P.S. I Love You Cover   Where Rainbows End Cover

I’ve read a book by Cecelia Ahern before and I really enjoyed it. I wanted to try her books that have been made into movies (the second is the original title for the book Love, Rosie). I really enjoyed her writing style and the way she developed the relationships so I’m hoping these two are hits as well.

Goodreads   Goodreads

The Dirty Thirty
by Jessa Kaye

The Dirty Thirty Cover

This is the first published novel from one of my fanfiction writer friends. It’s not a story that was reimagined but she started out as a fanfic writer and I can’t wait to see how her writing style adjusts to original characters. Plus I also love the cover. If I can spread a little love to my friends, I’m going to do that!

Goodreads

Attachments and Landline
by Rainbow Rowell

Attachments Cover   Landline Cover

Even though I was not a huge fan of Rainbow’s Young Adult book, I had this TBR for awhile and I still want to see how her writing is for adults. I’ve heard from a few people that I like her adult books more than her young adult books. So I am hopeful that I will enjoy these two books more than I did Fangirl.

Goodsreads   Goodreads

Beautiful Bastard Series #1, #1.5, #2, #2.5, #3, #3.5, #3.6, #4 and #4.5
Beautiful Bastard, Beautiful Bitch, Beautiful Stranger, Beautiful Bombshell, Beautiful Player, Beautiful Beginning, Beautiful Beloved, Beautiful Secret and Beautiful Boss
by Christina Lauren

Beautiful Bastard Cover   Beautiful Bitch Cover   Beautiful Stranger Cover

Beautiful Bombshell Cover   Beautiful Player Cover   Beautiful Beginning Cover

Beautiful Beloved Cover   Beautiful Secret Cover   Beautiful Boss Cover

Yay for another fanfiction turned published book! Especially a Twilight fanfiction because that is my life. Still haha. I feel like this series is also super popular. This is a combination of two authors who go by one penname and I’m pretty excited to read it. It’s all the way at the bottom of my list but I might cheat and start reading it earlier than this list suggest. The last book comes out in the last day of Feb so I don’t know if I’ll read it or not but I still want to try my hardest.

Goodreads

The Notebook and The Lucky One
by Nicholas Sparks

The Notebook Cover  The Lucky One Cover

Last ones I swear! haha. I have read one Nicholas Sparks (The Last Song) and I wanted to read the inspiration to the movies that I love. The Notebook is a must, because I absolutely adore that movie more than my whole life. And The Lucky One is necessary too cause I want to watch that movie with Zac Efron in it. I just love him.

Goodreads   Goodreads

So that’s it for all the books I want to read this month! I’m not gonna read them all, there is no way but I like to push myself to read as much as I can. Let me know if you’ve read any of these books! Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

 

16 thoughts on “February ’16 TBR – Adult Contemporary Theme

  1. This is a great post! I’ve read Alice Clayton’s Nuts and enjoyed it, and I’ve been curious about the Wallbanger series. I had NO IDEA that it used to be a Twilight fanfiction–the description doesn’t ring a bell at all.

    Happy reading, hope you enjoy all these books! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are a LOT! I can’t wait to start HP! I read Wallbanger and Rusty Nailed last year I think, and for me it was a light fun read that I really enjoyed! (didn’t know of the Twilight thing at all O.o). I remember that I started the Beautiful Bastard series, reading only the first one. Now I don’t remember what it was about. But let me know if you read it your thoughts and I might continue it! Attachments and Landline sounds both great and I have been wanting to read them for a while but haven’t done it yet!
    Good luck!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read The Notebook and The Lucky one too! And I loved them both. I watched both their movies first and the movies both did full justice to the book! And Zac Effron is just so handsome and he was perfect for the character of Logan. You must read and watch them both. And Ryan Gosling is just great! Lobed them both! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

