Book Review – Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Book Review - Queen of Shadows

Queen of Shadows Cover

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publication: September 1st, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Format: Kindle Edition, 656 pages

Genre: Young Adult, High Fantasy, Paranormal

Read: January 2016

Sarah J. MaasGoodreads

 

5 Stars

Synopsis
Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire-for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…
She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.
She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.
Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

Critically

Plot – 5 out of 5 stars
I swear the plot lines of this series just keep getting better and better. This was heart wrenching and full of action. There’s death, magic and so many revelations about the world and the characters. There’s a lot of ass kicking, signature Throne of Glass style as well as a very engaging roller coaster pace and the plot twists though. I just love it so much.

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars
Part of the reason I feel like I enjoy this series so much is because of how simple yet engaging the writing style is. It’s very versatile as there are always various POVs in each book. There’s also a lot of mini cliffhangers at the end of each chapter that just make you want to go aha! and it just pulls you in closer and closer until you’re so invested in the what’s happening, you’re getting to the end haha.

Characters – 3.5 out of 5 stars
Yeah, I’m just as surprised by that number as you are. One of my favorite things about this series are the characters, I adore them. I specially loved their character development in the last book but there comes a time when you can do too much. Yes, I’m talking about Celaena AKA Aelin. I’ve always enjoyed her character but she just got too intense sometimes. She’s determined and strong but too independent, too secretive and too angry for me. I still love the way she grows constantly in every single installment and this one is no different. But I was slightly annoyed with her stubbornness and general bitchiness. The rest of the characters are amazing. There’s so many of them but they all manage to be complex and intricate and lovable. They are all my little babies, even the ones that have just shown up and the ones that came back with a vengeance.

Emotionally

 I was absolutely and completely terrified to read this after hearing so many mixed reviews after its released but I LOVED IT!

Before I start, I want to mention that although this is the spoiler section, I usually try not to spoil anything anyway. But considering how this is the fourth book in a series, try as I might, I can’t not spoil someone so: SPOILERS AHEAD!

The plot was intense. Celaena, who now goes by her birth name Aelin, is back in Rifthold to cause some havoc and settle some debts that have been left unpaid. At the same time, the King of Adarlan is building an army full of really disgusting and shady things. There is always so much going on when it comes to the plot of these books and this installment is so exception. The only difference with this one is that it had more of a lull to it than the rest. The pace was more up and down, lots of action and then quiet, kind of brainstorming and strategizing. But even with those slower paced moments, I wish on the edge of my seat the entire time because there were so many things that could go wrong, so many pieces that could screw up the whole puzzle! The plot twists were amazing, I didn’t see any of them coming at all and I loved how we still have things we don’t know about the characters and how they’re revealed at the right time, every time. God, and the ending just filled my little fangirl heart with so much hope for the future. So anxious for book 6.

Aelin is a bitch. I’m sorry ya’ll but there is no other way to describe how she acted in this book. I’m not saying it’s bad, it just is what it is. She took a giant dose of bitchy attitude and replenished it whenever she ran low, it was crazy. I loved how she accepted her heritage in Heir of Fire but its almost like she went to the other complete extreme in her effort to shed her Celaena persona. There is a way to get rid of your alter ego and it really bothered me how it was more of a extinction type of thing, instead of progress into becoming your full self. That is more of a writer problem than a character problem and is one of the reasons why I gave the characters in total such a small rating in comparison to the first books. There was a better way to shift from Celaena to Aelin than the one we actually got. And there is also a lot of room for Aelin  to be badass without being rude. She had the space to be more compassionate and not as secretive or harsh but it wasn’t explored enough. Nevertheless, I still love her and I hope to see her find a balance to her personalities.

The cast of characters in this series is also one of my favorites ever. I love every single one of them for completely different reasons. Every time I think of Aedion, i imagine an overly excited puppy. Clever and cute and protective but generally well over his head. Which isn’t bad! But I kind of want to see more growth to him besides wanting to be by his cousin’s side. Rowan is strong, steady and unflinching in his personality and attitude. I guess that comes with being an immortal and he’s hot and all but I wish he had more personal growth. Lysandra is BOMB ya’ll. I 100% hated her in the Assassin’s Blade but in QOS, she really surprised me. I had no idea how many shocking news and actions she had under her sleeve. Nesryn is a nice addition to this weird gang with her nonchalance and quiet confidence. I want to get to know her a lot more. Manon is bae okay? She’s amazing. I love her personality and everything about her, although her stubbornness drove me insane this book! I just want her to be wholesome and cute and still be badass at the same time haha.

So that’s it for this review! Let me know if you’ve read this book and what you thought about it. I am absolutely dying to read the next book. Like, now. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

Leave a Reply

