Pastry Book Tag

Pastry Book Tag

Hello everyone!

I am continuing my giant back list of tags today with the Pastry Book Tag! My lovely friend, Melanie @ Melanie Noell Bernard tagged me to do this… last month. So I’m doing it now!

SO let’s get started!

Croissant: NAME A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE (INCLUDING YOU) LOVES

Throne of Glass Cover

I am a huge fan of this series. I am not ashamed to say that I was excited to jump on the bandwagon and be part of the fandom. I am obsessed with this currently and I am dying to get my hands on the fifth book (or at least get the title!). I know some people have given up or were really upset about the last installment, but I loved it to death and I never want this series to end!

 

 

 

Macaroons: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS HARD TO GET THROUGH BUT WORTH IT IN THE END

A Tale of Two Cities Cover

The hardest books for me to get through are classics and this book was a real struggle for me to read. I knew I had to finish it because I had to read it for school, but the great thing about it is that I ended up loving it! The French Revolution is one of my favorite historical setting (yes I’m weird) and this had romance, mystery, death and betrayal. It was freaking awesome and I want to re-read it soon.

 

 

 

 

 

Vol-Au-Vent: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WOULD BE AMAZING BUT FELL FLAT

Cinder Cover

Nobody kill me for this! I liked it, I swear I did! The problem is that I wasn’t expecting it to be so predictable. The hype is so huge with this series and I thought I was going to be completely blown away by the content and I was a little disappointed. It was a solid start to a series but I figured out the end from the first few chapters and that’s really annoying for me.

 

 

 

Pain-Au-Chocolat: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGH WOULD BE ONE THING BUT TURNED OUT TO BE SOMETHING ELSE

Inamorata Cover

When I first started this book, I was expecting a lot of steampunk elements and a nice mystery. I pretty much got an erotica hiding behind the title of steampunk fantasy. And if that wasn’t enough, there’s also a lot of paranormal elements to it. It was a lot more descriptive and gory than I first thought it was going to be and I was really grossed out at some points. I didn’t hate it but it took me aback and wasn’t what I thought it was going to be.

 

 

 

Profiterole: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT DOESN’T GET ENOUGH ATTENTION

Poison Study Cover

I know you’re tired of looking at this book or of me talking about it. But this is becoming the week of Poison Study and I am not sorry. This book is absolutely amazing. It’s fast paced, mysterious, entertaining, with magic and lots of action. And it saddens me how the fandom is so small because it deserves so much more than that. In its defense this came out a LONNGGGGG time ago. And it was first marketed as an adult book. But now that the second trilogy is coming out and people are paying a lot of attention to it, I feel like they need to go back to the roots and see where everything started.

 

 

Croquembouche: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT’S COMPLETELY COMPLEX.

The Queen of the Tearling Cover

Despite popular believe, this is actually an adult fantasy trilogy. The main character is a 17 year old but the circumstances and  the goriness of the book is definitely adult. There is so much going on in this book. I haven’t continued the series yet but there are so many different pieces and plot points and you don’t know how or when they’ll connect. It has mystery and magic and I really enjoyed this first installment.

 

 

 

Napoleon: NAME A MOVIE OR TV SHOW BASED OFF A BOOK THAT YOU LIKED BETTER THAN THE BOOK ITSELF.

Pretty Little Liars Cover

Now I can’t judge that much because I’ve only read the first book and only seen the first season in its entirety. But I honestly felt like the book was so juvenile. It didn’t have half as much of the mystery or suspense that the show has. The show creeps me the hell out and I’m very stupid and haven’t continued watching it. I’m going to be reading the next two or three books in the series later in the year so maybe I might change my mind.

 

 

 

Empanada: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS BITTERSWEET

Darkest Mercy Cover

This is the last book in the Wicked Lovely series (which more people need to read also) and it was so sad to see this series end. I loved it so much and there are so many amazing and complex characters that make up this series. The ending wasn’t what I wanted but it was the ending it needed and that was so bittersweet. It made me sad and happy at the same time and I wish there was more from this crazy ensemble.

 

 

 

Kolompeh: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT TAKES PLACE SOMEWHERE OTHER THAN YOUR OWN COUNTRY

Sekret Cover

This literally could be any book ever written ever because there is no book set in my country. But either way, I decided to go with this book. It’s a great one and its set in Russia in the 60’s during the Cold War and it’s about these kids who have psychic abilities and they get recruited to the KGB. IT’S GOOD! If you haven’t read it, you should! Because it’s almost like historical fiction with a psychological thriller. I really want to continue reading this series this year.

 

 

 

Pate-A-Choux: NAME A FOOD FROM A BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO TRY

Luck on the Line Cover

I’ve never really paid attention to food in books, it’s not something that I keep my eye on while I read. So I picked this book because although I don’t remember  the food, there is food behind presented. The male protagonist is a chef and there is a part where the main female character is sampling his food to sign off on his menu so I’d love to try the things he cooked (and him haha).

 

 

 

Tag! You’re It:

Reg @ She Latitude

Mariana @ Book is Glee

Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny

Estefani @ Fiction Jungle

If you’ve already done this tag, don’t worry about it 🙂

So that’s it for this tag! Let me know what kind of books you would use for these questions. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

 

9 thoughts on “Pastry Book Tag

  1. I didn’t much like Cinder as well, but I didn’t finish that book! I’m not a huge TOG fan either, though. 😛

    And I laughed out loud at your description of Inamorata. I too went into a particular book thinking it was going to be YA fantasy-ish from its cover but it turned out to be almost a full-blown erotica, so colour me surprised!

    Thank you for the tag. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wholeheartedly agree with you on Poison Study! That book (and the whole series) is ah-mah-zing! ❤ I haven't got a chance to read The Queen of The Tearling yet, but there are so many great recommendations about it, so I probably need to catch up and get a copy fast! 😀 Great post. And thank you for tagging me! ❤
    P/s: This tag sounds yummy…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

