Book Traveling Thursdays Feb. 18th – Crying Is Not So Bad

BTT Feb 18

Hello everyone!

I am running out of ways to say that it’s time for Book Traveling Thursdays. This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is crying is not always bad: choose a book that made you ugly cry. There has only ever been one book that’s made me ugly cry. It happened in 8th grade, during my second period Choir class. We had a free day and were listening to a few new songs for our show. And then I just started bawling my eyes out and all my friends freaked the hell out. All I could do was sob and point at the book.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. It’s probably the first book about mental health and suicide that I ever read. At the time, I was very depressed and it just hit me so so hard. I think I cried the whole time I read it and I loved it but its also one of the reasons I have no re-read it and probably won’t ever re-read it.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

Thirteen Reasons Why Cover

This is the original cover as well as the cover that the book I read had. I think it was the hardback but I cannot for the life of me remember if it was my book or someone had let me borrow it. I quite like this cover, it’s very creepy and strange in a way which although there’s nothing paranormal in this story, it is a strange premise. I also like how they did the title, how they added the numbers to the words.

My Favorite Cover

Thirteen Reasons Why Reprint Cover  Thirteen Reasons Why Indonesian Cover

The first cover is the reprint edition in the US and UK. I’m torn between this one and the original because obviously they’re similar but I feel like this one is a lot creepier and sort of eerie. While I was looking at all the editions, I found this Indonesian cover and I love it because it’s so representatives of the plot. I really like how they made the title with the tapes and just think that it expresses a lot of what the book is about.

My Least Favorite Cover

Thirteen Reasons Why Italian Cover

Why Italy, why? The main character is neither a ghost nor a demon. Why did you have to make her look so scary? She’s not even the protagonist or the narrator because she’s not even there! There’s no need to make it look like it’s a retelling of Friday the 13th.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

8 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Feb. 18th – Crying Is Not So Bad

  1. I love the black and white version of the original cover! It looks so lovely. I have yet to read this book, but I’ve been meaning to for a year now (oops!).
    I could name so many books that made me ugly cry! The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover – AND MORE.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

