February ’16 Wrap Up

Wrap Up February Logo

Hello everyone!

I am here to talk about the books that I read in February. The books I’m going to talk about today are only some of the ones I managed to read this month. I read three books during the Rainbowthon 2.0 readathon, you can check out those books in my wrap up here. I feel like I did okay this month. Not as much as I’m used to reading in the beginning of the year but solid for me. I read a total of 13 books, 12 books and one novella, which is nice and solid and I enjoyed most of them.

Here’s what I read in February:

Life on the Level (On the Verge #3)
by Zoraida Cordova

Life on the Level Cover

 4 Stars

This is an ARC that I got from NetGalley at the end of last month and I swear I have never been more excited for an ARC in my entire life. This is one of my favorite New Adult series ever and this particular story is a lot heavier and more serious than the first two but still so incredible. If you’d like to see more of my in depth thoughts, check out my review here.

Wallbanger (Cocktail #1)
by Alice Clayton

Wallbanger Cover

5 Stars

I LOVE THIS BOOK! It was amazing and hilarious and completely beyond what I expected. If you didn’t know this was originally a Twilight fanfiction called Edward Wallbanger (don’t make that face, it’s not cute) which I read and I always get a bit apprehensive when re-reading fanfictions as published works. But you guys, this was completely stellar! I highly recommend this book.

Boycotts and Barflies
by Victoria Michaels

Boycotts and Barflies Cover

1 Star

I hate this book with a giant passion. This is the kind of published fanfiction that makes people hesitant to read the glory I just spoke about above. It is basically the same thing published, which a good novel does not make. I’ll be ranting in a review for this book as well as sharing a discussions on published fanfictions inspired by this book both coming next month. Stay tuned.

Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2)
by Alice Clayton

Rusty Nailed Cover

4 Stars

This is the sequel to Wallbanger and it talks about the same couple whom I love. Unfortunately, it was brought down because this one is a little bit more serious and not as entertaining as the first. I enjoyed seeing the deeper side to how an adult relationships progresses but it wasn’t what I expected. I still really enjoyed it and made sure to continue on the next book asap.

Revenge and the Wild
by Michelle Modesto

Revenge and the Wild Cover

4 Stars

This is the book I chose to fulfill my Read It While It’s Hot challenge for this month and I enjoyed it but I had a few issues with it. It felt really long and dragged out but it was less than 400 pages. There were a lot of different genres involved in this book and sometimes it felt overwhelming and messy. I liked the plot and the characters but I expected something different. I’m sharing a review next month for this as well where I’ll more about all of my many, many thoughts.

Harry Potter and  the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1)
by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Cover

4 Stars

Yes, I finally did it! Aldii and I started our Potter Challenge this month with the first book of this series. I was really excited to read it for the first time, but I was a little let down. I think the hype and the fact that I’ve seen the movie made things a little predictable for me. We’re going to be sharing some awesome posts later in March and I’ll share more of my thoughts then.

Screwdrivered (Cocktail #3)
by Alice Clayton

Screwdrivered Cover

5 Stars

I LOVE THIS BOOK! THIS IS MY FAVORITE BOOK IN THE ENTIRE SERIES! I was a little apprehensive about reading this book because it’s a different point of view than the first and I LOVED THAT ONE. But seriously, these are my babies from this series. Vivian is three times funnier than Caroline and so much sass fills her short little body. I loved and adored her and I’m sad that she only got one whole book with her POV.

A Madness So Discreet
by Mindy McGinnis

A Madness So Discreet Cover

3 Stars

This was my Monthly Book Club’s pick of the month and I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. The best way I think to describe this book is unexpected. The blurb tells you one thing but the actual plot of the story is different from what you first realize. It wasn’t bad, I was intrigued for the most part but I thought I was going to get something else than what I ended up reading. And I’m still confused about some of the finer points.

Mai Tai’d Up (Cocktail #4)
by Alice Clayton

Mai Tai'd Up Cover

4 Stars

I really liked this one but it didn’t top the epicness that was Screwdrivered. This is from the point of view of a character we meet in the aforementioned book and I really liked her perspective but it was a real change from Viv. I wasn’t sure how all the stories were going to weave together until this book and I saw how small the world is. Also love the use of common tropes but flipped on their heads. It was very entertaining.

Last Call (Cocktail #4.5)
by Alice Clayton

Last Call Cover

4 Stars

And this little nugget is the final part of the Cocktail series and it warmed my heart all over. We are back with the couple that started it all and their adventures take on a more series turn. We also get to see all the other cast of characters and how their lives are doing, all their crazy shenanigans. The ending is so bittersweet and I wish there were more books from this whole gang because they are amazing.

So those are all the books I read this month! Let me know if you’ve read any of them and your thoughts. You all should definitely check out the Cocktail series if you’re into Adult Contemporary, it’s hilarious and quite fun. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

15 thoughts on “February ’16 Wrap Up

  1. I read the first two in the Cocktail series and enjoyed them a lot! You make me want to continue it! I recently heard about Revenge and the Wild and it seems interesting but now I want to read your review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t worry about being let down by the first Harry Potter book, I felt the same way!! When I read it a few years ago I was like “well, that was good, but I don’t understand the obsession.” Then I kept reading. And boyyyyy did I get on that train so fast!!! After book 1 the entire series just picks up completely, and I couldn’t put it down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

