Book Traveling Thursdays Mar. 10th – International Women’s Day

BTT Mar 10

Hello everyone!

Happy late International Women’s Day! I’m celebrating by sharing a Book Traveling Thursday with you! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is it was International Women’s Day!! Choose a book with a badass heroine. There are so many options for this topic. I think it’s becoming the new thing in Young Adult and in books in general to have strong females kicking ass. Which is amazing by the way! But because of that I decided to throw it back to a kind of old but greatly appreciated kick ass heroine who’s not getting as much attention lately anymore.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan. Annabeth is kind of like the awesomest badassest (that’s not a word) heroine ever. And the reason I picked this book in particular though she’s in all the other ones, is because she really comes into her own in this one. She kicks some serious butt by herself and she don’t need nobody! (Though sometimes help is nice).

Original Cover & My Country Cover

The Mark of Athena Cover

This is the original US cover and I quite like it. Although it has nothing to do with actually looking for the Athena statue except for the random owl eyes in the background. But I really enjoy the lightning affect and the contrast of all the colors. I’m a fan.

My Favorite Cover

The Mark of Athena Dutch Cover  The Mark of Athena German Cover

I love the detail and care that have gone into both these covers. The Dutch and German covers of these series are quite amazing and it surprises me how they can do these so well, but there are others that they completely screw over. I love the gradients of color that they used. But it’s still upsetting that they don’t really show what Annabeth is doing in the book.

My Least Favorite Cover

The Mark of Athena British Cover  The Mark of Athena Italian Cover

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I do not like the UK covers of this series. They feel so simple but weird at the same time. They are just not aesthetically pleasing. And it breaks my heart that I have the Italian cover on this because I love their version of the House of Hades cover. But it’s just so much YELLOW! Like it hurts my eyesight. The image is amazing but the color is way too intense.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

5 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Mar. 10th – International Women’s Day

Leave a Reply

