Book Traveling Thursdays Mar. 17th – Father’s Day

BTT Mar 17

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is “Father’s Day is celebrated in a couple of days in a few countries! Choose a book with a awesome father figure.” A few countries does not include my own but that’s okay! Fathers are great… most of the time. I have been very lucky to have had two (kind of three) father figures in my life so I wanted to highlight a book that sort of had the same qualities.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. If you did not know, the main character in this novel has a set of two male parents, the loveliest I’ve ever seen. They don’t fall into the usual category of absentee parents as it happens in YA and they definitely make it a point to take care of and let their daughter be her most authentic self. It’s beautiful.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

Lola and the Boy Next Door Original Cover

I hate this cover. Everyone hates this cover. I give props for the model actually resembling how Lola likes to dress but god people in covers are not pretty publishers. Stop doing this please. Unless you do it Wrath and the Dawn style or Splintered style which actually worked. No other way is acceptable.

My Favorite Cover

Lola and the Boy Next Door Cover   Lola and the Boy Next Door French Cover

I really loved the redesigned US covers (although it irks me that the third book does not take place entirely in the place the cover says). The big font is attractive and I am a huge fan of gradients especially bright ones like this. And while the French cover has people which I complained about a second ago, it’s cute and reminds me of summer and just has the general contemporary feel.

My Least Favorite Cover

Lola and the Boy Next Door Czech Cover

I don’t really have to say anything about this one, do I? Come on Czechs, get your shit together.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Mar. 17th – Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

