Throwback Thursday #1

Throwback Thursday #1

Hello everyone!

This week is just full of little changes huh? I could not for the life of me think of a book to fit this week’s Book Traveling Thursday so I decided to take advantage of the internet and make a world wide meme into an original book blogging meme!

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme all over the world in which people share old photos of amazing moments in their lives. So I adjusted it to share a book that I’ve read more than 2 years ago and talk a little bit my thoughts on it.

SO let’s get started!

Today I want to talk about Doing It by Melvin Burgess. I found this book one day in Barnes and Noble and as a young teen exploring sexuality the title made me laugh so I bought it. I didn’t realize it was a book by a British author at the time and it took me awhile to get into it but either way I read it in one sitting.

Doing It Cover

Now in paperback, award-winning author Melvin Burgess’s daringly honest and often hilarious account of contemporary teenage life, and the ups and downs that surround “doing it.”

The controversial book on which the cult favorite ABC television series Life as We Know It (now available on DVD) was based, Doing It introduces us to Dino, Jon, and Ben, three teenage best friends who can’t stop thinking about, and talking about (and hoping to experience), sex.

 

 

This book was absolutely hilarious. There was a lot of slang that I didn’t understand but once you get the hang of it, the humor of the writing style really shines through. These three teenage boys are all obsessed with one thing: sex and they are working on all their charms to get themselves laid. The different personalities were very distinct and each boy had a different sort of plot line while at the same time it felt well balanced and connected. I really enjoyed this book and I feel like re-reading it again because it was just pure entertainment.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what you think of this quirky meme :). Let me know of a really old book that you enjoyed and haven’t talk about in awhile. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

 

One thought on “Throwback Thursday #1

Leave a Reply

