Potter Challenge: Get Yourself Sorted

Potter Challenge Get Yourself Sorted

Hello everyone!

I am here today to share a very special post!

In the beginning of January, I talked about the reading challenges I was going to be participating in and one of them was a personal one called the Potter Challenge. I challenged myself to read one book a month of the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling until I finished, so I could finally mark it as done! My friend Aldii @ PerfectioninBooks joined me and last month we got ourselves together and sorted out and started with the first book Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

In this post, I’ll be sharing a mini review with my thoughts on that book, my Hogwarts house and the kind of merch that I want to buy like NOW, as well as a special announcement.

SO let’s get started!

MINI REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Cover

4 Stars

Critically

Plot – 3.5 out of 5 stars

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars

Characters – 4 out of 5 stars

Emotionally

It sucks to say but while I was really excited to read this book, I was a bit let down in the beginning. The plot was a lot slower than I thought it would be. While I was intrigued and entertained, I just wanted something to happen! Especially since I already know all the basics, I kept waiting for the exciting parts and got kind of bored with the interesting but long explanations. The gigantic amount of hype and the fact that I’ve seen the movie adaptation before were big factors in my not having enjoyed the book as a whole as much as I wanted to. J.K. Rowling’s writing style took me off guard a bit. It’s really hard to describe and kind of quirky so it took me a few chapters to get used to it and get sucked into it. But on the upside, it read really easy. The characters were also underwhelming. I get that they’re young and this is technically a middle grade book but I was not prepared for how annoying Hermoine was, how bland Harry felt and how slightly rude Ron’s dialogue was. They were a little bit more immature and juvenile than I expected and I didn’t feel like I got to know them as much. But to be honest, I still enjoyed the story and all the extra details and I am hopeful that the next books are more action packed.

HOGWARTS HOUSE SORTING

So when Aldii and I started talking about the things we wanted to talk about on our Potter Challenge updates, we came up with the idea of slowly entering into the fandom as we read and since recently the Pottermore website reinstated their Sorting Hat Quiz, we decided to take the quiz and find out which houses we would belong to.

Are you ready?

Are you really?

Ok, if you’re sure.

My Hogwarts House is…..

*drum roll*

GRYFFINDOR!!!

*cheers all over the internet*

Gryffindor House

Our emblem is the lion, the bravest of all creatures; our house colours are scarlet and gold, and our common room lies up in Gryffindor Tower.

This is, quite simply, the best house at Hogwarts. It’s where the bravest and boldest end up – for instance: Albus Dumbledore! Yes, Dumbledore himself, the greatest wizard of our time, was a Gryffindor! If that’s not enough for you, I don’t know what is.
I won’t keep you long, as all you need to do to find out more about your house is to follow Harry Potter and his friends as I lead them up to their dormitories. Enjoy your time at Hogwarts – but how could you fail to? You’ve become part of the best house in the school.

To be honest, I didn’t really give a lot of thought to what house I would be in before taking the quiz because I’m not really conscious of what they all stand for. But I am quite happy with this choice, not only because of the traits they represent but also because since it’s the house of the main character, I feel like there might be more mention of it throughout the books.

MERCH MANIA

So now that I have a Hogwarts House, I wanted to look for some merchandise that I could purchase to make myself feel a lot more Gryffindoree. I’m only looking at the official merch for now even though I know that there are definitely a lot of fan made Harry Potter merch which kind of feels like a black hole and I’m not brave enough to go there yet.

So I looked at the official Warner Brothers store and picked out some things that I definitely want to get my hands on again.

Gryffindor Scarf

Gryffindor Scarf

Obviously this is a necessity! Not only because I am obsessed with scarves in general, I have a very large multi colored collection but because this is such an iconic thing from the movie franchise that I just want it in my life. I wouldn’t feel authentically Gryffindor without it.

 

 

Griffyndor Pillow

Gryffindor Pillow

I feel like this would be the best kind of decoration in my couch on my apartment. It says everything about me: I have an obsessive personality, I’m a fangirl and I read a whole lot. And it’s cute. But I’ll have to think of the best way to coordinate this so it doesn’t make the rest of my living room and vomit of yellow haha.

 

 

Gryffindor Notebook

Gryffindor Notebook

I am also quite obsessed with notebooks, it’s the way that I keep myself organized (I’ll be sharing a post about that on Sunday btw). And I wasn’t going to share this one at first but it just looks so fancy and cute that I just want to hold it and fill it with all of my blogging ideas.

 

 

Gryffindor T-Shirt

Gryffindor T-Shirt

The only reason that I have this on my list is because I heard there is a day called House Pride day and I need something to wear for that. It may be too hot that day to wear my scarf, so I got my t-shirt  and I can wear my Pride everywhere.

 

 

 

Gryffindor Phone Cover

Gryffindor Phone Cover

I’m a little uncertain about this one. I want a phone cover but I don’t know if this design in the one that I would end up getting. This is from the official store but I’ve looked on Google and there are some amazing, hand made phone covers not only for Harry Potter, but for the Gryffindor house. So I’m not sure what I’m going to end up getting in the end.

 

Now these last two things aren’t House related but I REALLY want them. Like now. Appear out of thin air into my life right now.

Time-Turner Necklace

Time-Turner Necklace

I talked about this on my T5W for the top 5 fictional items I want. Even though it won’t work like in the books, I still want to pretend, so I want to have one of my own. Also, it’s absolutely gorgeous and you know this would make a simple outfit a stunner in two seconds.

 

 

Hogwarts Alumni Sweatshirt

Hogwarts Alumni Sweatshirt

Last but not least, a Hogwarts alumni sweatshirt and this choice is a little bit nostalgic. I never got a sweatshirt from my high school that just had my high school’s name. I have one from my dance class but it’s not enough for me. So I want a Hogwarts Alumni one, not just the crest, it has to say that I GRADUATED from Hogwarts and that would make my day.

 

I found all of these items on the Harry Potter Warner Brothers Shop and Warner Brothers Studio Tour London store. Check out the websites, here and here.

ANNOUNCEMENT

Okay so, after reading this first book we (Aldii and I) definitely want to watch the movie adaptation as well. While we were talking, we first thought about watching it just the two of us but wouldn’t it better if we watch it together?

We are probably going to be watching all of them so we created a watchalong for the first one for this month!

So, we are inviting you to watch the first movie with us, our first time watching the movie after reading the book.

We will be talking and doing a kind of twitter chat with the hashtag #PotterChallenge. We will be watching on March 27th at 4:00 pm PST. We choose this time considering where Aldii and I live. For me, that’s 6:30 pm and for her it’s 9:00 pm. Let me know in the comments if you’re joining us and I’ll definitely be putting reminder on my Twitter so follow me there!

So that’s it for this post! TALK TO ME ABOUT HARRY POTTER! I can finally sort of join the conversation. Don’t spoil things for me but let’s talk about Hogwarts and Gryffindor and tell me what house you’re in! Keep an eye out for these Challenge Updates cause we’re doing one for every book. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

4 thoughts on “Potter Challenge: Get Yourself Sorted

  1. I read the books as each came out. I recently began a re-read for the first time, (I’ve finished the 1st and 2nd so far), I still loved them, but they’re not as good as my nostalgia/childhood remembers.

    I think because they were such a major part of people’s childhood and it felt all of us were reading them together that they got elevated to god-like status. I’d guess they introduced a lot of children to the fantasy genre too.

    Ahem, now I’ve given my two cent. I am in Ravenclaw! Which baffles me. Did you know you have to solve a puzzle to get into the common room? (I read that on pottermore so I’m not spoiling anything bookwise) I’ll be stuck sleeping outside like a hobo. D’:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

