Freadom Recs: New Adult

Freadom Recs New Adult

Hello everyone!

Today I am introducing a new feature to my blog. It’s called Freadom Recs (yep, totally stole it from my discussion feature’s name) and this is the feature where I will be sharing my recommendations for books based on a theme or a topic.

I’ve always wanted to recommend books to other people and I’ve had people ask me a few times but I didn’t feel like I could really say anything that no one else hadn’t already recommended before and that wasn’t what I wanted to do. I want to be able to recommend books that are less known, less read by the masses and hopefully turn people onto a new genre or author.

This week I am going to be recommending some New Adult Contemporary series and books. This genre is one of my recent favorites and while I’ve had some problems with it (and still have more to explore), I feel like I can now share some of the books that have sold it for me.

SO let’s get started!

#1 – Sea Breeze Series by Abby Glines

 Breathe Cover

This is one of the first New Adult series that I ever read and the one that turned me to companion series. I read it back in 2014 before starting my Booktube channel and I really enjoyed the characters and the way the different relationships played out. It’s not on my favorites list mostly because it has the tendency to become overly dramatic like the popular NA and some of the plot points are far fetched. But in general it’s a really fun lighthearted series about a great group of friends all getting their chance at love.

#2 – Carry the Ocean by Heidi Cullinan

Carry the Ocean Cover

This is one of the books I read for my Monthly Book Club with my friends Abby and Gervan and I was really pleasantly surprised with it. The plot follows two boys with different heavy problems, mental health and autism, and their work for independence and their desire to have a romantic relationship. I really love the distinct narration and the message behind it and I would really recommend it. Check out my soundtrack here.

#3 – Off-Campus Series by Elle Kennedy

The Deal Cover

I’d be really surprised if you haven’t heard about this series but I still have to recommend it! This is a self-published companion series about a group of amazing guys who play hockey and  their woes with women. This is a series that is absolutely entertaining, full hilarity but still with genuine moments and great themes. The last book is my absolute favorite and I can’t wait for the fourth book to come out this September! If you’d like to see more of my thoughts, you can check out my series review for the first three books here.

#4 – Starcrossed Series by Leisa Rayven

Bad Romeo Cover

Again, I’ve talked a lot about this series on my blog I think, mostly because I absolutely love it! The first two books are about the relationship between these two drama students in their past and the future. The description is not that exciting but the writing is what really sells this series. It’s so emotional and deep and angsty! I have recently talked about this in my discussion about Published Fanfictions which you can read here. And I also have reviews for the first two books which you can read here and here if you’d like to know more of my thoughts!

#5 – On the Verge Series by Zoraida Cordova

Luck on the Line Cover

Last but certainly not least, the On the Verge series is my favorite New Adult contemporary series right now. Again this is a companion series about different girls and their relationships with awesome men and how they form. Super simple, pretty similar to everything out there but the writing style is hilarious, fresh and real. I really like all the books but the second is my absolute favorite, it makes me feel so represented as a Latina. If you’d like to see more of my in depth thoughts about this series so you can be totally persuaded to read this, you can read my reviews here, here and here.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them. I am a huge fan of realistic New Adult, the kinds with not a lot of drama, so if you have any recs for ME, let me know in the comments! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

12 thoughts on “Freadom Recs: New Adult

  1. I read a few books of the Sea Breeze a long time ago and I think I enjoyed them, they were okay, not that I loved them but I enjoyed my time so that’s good anyways, isn’t it?
    You already know Bad Romeo, Off–Campus series and On the Verge series are on my TBR but I have never heard of Carry the Ocean and it sounds soo amazing! I’m definitely adding it to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

