Book Traveling Thursdays Mar. 31st – All of Us Have Read Classics

BTT Mar 31

Hello everyone!

I am back with Book Traveling Thursdays! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic “All of us have read Classics at some point of our life. Choose your favorite Classic.” I’ve only ever read the classics that they force on you in school but I’ve always been that person to complete all my reading assignments for class so I always found myself mostly enjoying them. But there is only one classic that I’ve read that I absolutely adore with my whole heart.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. I feel completely in love with this book when I read back in my sophomore year of high school. Dickens’ writing is a little hard to get used to. It’s long and drawn out and he tends to describe absolutely everything he can think of. But they story captivated me and blew me away nonetheless.

Original Cover

A Tale of Two Cities Original Cover

As with classics, there’s also an insane amount of covers and one can’t really figure out which is the original out of all the originals. This is the oldest one that I found on the Goodreads list and it’s ugly. I know it, you know it, it just it.

My Country Cover

A Tale of Two Cities US Cover

This is the only one I feel like I’ve seen most often than not. Again, it’s really hard to really know with classics what was published first because they’re been around for so many years. This one doesn’t bother me much, Penguin Classics are usually good for classics.

My Favorite Cover

A Tale of Two Cities Cover

This is the one I use when I want to talk about this book in particular. It’s definitely not the prettiest but I really like the depiction of the crowd and the guillotine. It feels like they took a painting from that time and managed to transfer it onto the cover.

My Least Favorite Cover

A Tale of Two Cities Original Cover

I don’t really have to explain myself do I?

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

17 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Mar. 31st – All of Us Have Read Classics

  1. I haven’t read this one yet but I feel like I should. I’m glad you like it 🙂 It’s hard to pick a a cover for classics because there’s quite literally hundreds of them. You did a good job picking!
    Here’s mine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

