March ’16 Wrap Up

Wrap Up March Logo

Hello everyone!

I am here to do my wrap up, but a little differently than I usually do. Most of the time I just share the books I read and talk a little bit of my thoughts on them. But I keep forgetting to talk about the challenges I’m participating in and I want to jump on the bandwagon and talk about all the posts I shared in the month because I’ve been posting daily this entire month mostly and it makes me feel super happy.

SO let’s get started!

Books I Read

Read Books March

  1. Kursed (Sekret #0.5) by Lindsay Smith4 Stars  This is a novella before the Sekret duology and I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought. It’s interesting to see how the conflict started before the first book.
  2. Skandal (Sekret #2) by Lindsay Smith5 Stars  This is the second book in this amazing duology and I LOVED IT! It’s so entertaining but stressful and intense. It keep you on your toes the whole time and the historical elements are spot on and feel so real. I’m sharing a review for this duology this month!
  3. The Memory Jar by Janine Elissa Hoole 2.5 Stars  I got this book for review from NetGalley and the publisher and I have already shared my review which you can check out here. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy this as much as I hoped but I think it could mean a lot to someone else.
  4. A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab 5 Stars  I absolutely loved this book! Which is not surprising because this is one of my favorite authors of all time. I am obsessed with the way she weaves a story when she only reveals a little at a time to keep you on your toes. Look at for a review!
  5. The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) by Renee Ahdieh5 Stars  I was really nervous to start this book because the hype is so huge and I didn’t want to be disappointed. BUT I WASN’T! It started a little slowly but the writing is so addicting and engaging and it slowly builds the story more and more. It’s amazing!
  6. A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #2) by Claudia Gray4.5 Stars  Read this with my friends Abby and Gervan for our monthly book club. It took me a lot longer to get sold by the story compared to them but once I got halfway through, I was hooked. I wasn’t expecting a lot of the things that happened and I can’t wait to read the next book!
  7. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling4.5 Stars  Second book is done for the Potter Challenge with Aldii! Definitely enjoyed myself more while reading this one. It kept my attention and there was more action. It took less time to get to the meat of the plot which is good.
  8. Jackaby by William Ritter4 Stars  I was so pleasantly surprised by this book. I’ve heard a lot of mixed things about it but I really enjoyed it. The characters are really quirky and not what you’d expect and the plot surprised me at every turn. I’m looking forward to continuing.
  9. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab 5 Stars  THIS WAS AMAZING! I am so completely and totally obsessed with this series. This just got more and more astounding, there’s more characters, more world building, more action and more drama. The whole first part of the books you feel like you’re on the edge of a cliff, waiting to throw yourself off. And then you do and IT’S INSANE!
  10. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro 4 Stars  Read this book for both my Read It While It’s Hot Challenge and the 2016 Debut Author Challenge. I liked it and I was intrigued by the plot and what was happening but I was also very confused. I feel like I didn’t get to know the characters as well as I would’ve liked but it was a good start to a series.
  11. Beastly Bones by William Ritter 4.5 Stars  Finished this book April 1st, but decided to count it for March considering I read three quarters of it during that month. Really nice sequel to the first book. There’s a lot more action and a lot more characters as well as paranormal elements that kind of blew me away. This also sets up a lot of things for the third book and now I’m highly anticipating it’s release!

Posts I Shared

Reviews

Tags and Awards

Memes

Top 5 Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursdays

Throwback Thursday

Features

Challenges Update

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – 36/120 Books (30%)

Pretty good for only three months into the year! I’m already a few books ahead of schedule though I don’t know how Goodreads measures that but I want to keep that momentum next month.

  • Read It While It’s Hot Challenge – 3/12 Books

Doing awesome in this challenge! I’m really pushing myself to read at least one new release but I could probably do more than one if I really set my sights on it.

  • Potter Challenge – 2/7 Books

Aldii and I are kicking butt at this! It feels really good to actually know what the heck is the fuss about Harry Potter :).

  • 2016 Debut Author Challenge – 2/x Books

Again could be doing a lot better in this one. I kind of feel like I totally forgot that I am participating in this because I am definitely not putting my best efforts into it.

  • Finishing the Series Challenge – 4/x Series

My general goal was to finish at least 5 series but I’m now at 4 finished and it’s only March. So I’m hopeful that I’ll be able to surpass my own goal.

  • Around the World Challenge 2016 – 27/x Places

This one is one of the funnest challenges ever but I find myself forgetting to keep track. I got lucky the first two months of the year and read books where there were a few road trips, so I have a lot of dots on my map. Hopefully I can keep it up.

So that’s it for this wrap up! Let me know what you think of this new style. I’ve seen a lot of other bloggers do it this way and it’s really helpful to see how much work you’re actually putting into your blog this way. Let me know if you’re read any of the books I mentioned above and what you thought of them! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

19 thoughts on “March ’16 Wrap Up

  1. YES! ADSOM series!! That ending is true savage though haha… XD I’m dying to know what will happen next!
    By the way, this is such a nice wrap up!! ❤ Skandal sounds fabulous, and man… I have to start picking up Jackaby soon. It's been tempting me from my TBR since forever! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

