April ’16 TBR – Dystopian Theme

TBR Logo April

Hello everyone!

I am here to talk about the books I am hoping to read this month. After the Hunger Games and Divergent were released, there was a boost of Dystopian books in Young Adult literature. Unfortunately, that was the time in which I moved to Venezuela so I missed a lot of those books which became really popular. That let to me making April my month for reading Dystopian in an attempt to read all those books that I missed. I already managed to catch up some last year (I read the Legend and Shatter Me trilogies) but I still want to read more.

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
Anything You Want
by Geoff Herbach

Anything You Want Cover

Yay for NetGalley! I requested this on a whim because of the cover and I got accepted so this is the first book I’ll be reading this month. Hopefully I’ll enjoy it. Cristina @ My Tiny Obssesions and Kat @ Life and Other Disasters mentioned in their TBRs that they were going to be buddy reading this book so I threw myself into their bandwagon and now I’m going to be reading it with them! Yay!

Goodreads

TBR Jar Pick:
Wolf by Wolf (Wolf by Wolf #1)
by Ryan Graudin

Wolf by Wolf Cover

This is kind of like cheating again because it’s not technically in my physical jar, but I have given up on pulling out a little piece of paper that tells me what to do because all of those pieces say the first book in a series which this is! I’ve heard so many great things about this book and I’m still coming off my high of historical fiction from last month so I’m so excited to read this!

Goodreads

Monthly Book Club:

Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle #1)

by Rachel Hawkins

Rebel Belle Cover

Gervan picked this one this month! I’ve been interested in this book since it came out because there was quite a lot of hype for it. However, the only book I’ve read by Rachel is Hex Hall and while that was a long time ago, I enjoyed it at the time. So wish us luck!

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
The Star-Touched Queen
by Roshani Chokshi

The Star-Touched Queen Cover

There are so many great books coming out this month but I’m trying to use this challenge to also complete my Debut Author Challenge so I just had to pick this book. Ignore the fact that the cover of this book is absolutely beautiful and mind blowing, I have heard so many good things from the people who’ve read ARCs. It looks so interesting and entertaining and I kind of hope this is more than a standalone Ember in the Ashes style.

Goodreads

Potter Challenge:
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3)
by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Cover

Aldii and I are still kicking butt and going strong in our challenge! I AM SO EXCITED TO READ THIS ONE! But at the same time I’m really nervous too. This movie adaptation is my favorite one (even if I haven’t seen the last two) and I’m scared that I won’t like this one as much as I loved the movie. I’m really enjoying getting to read these books with Aldii so I’m excited to keep going.

Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Sea Glass (Glass #2), Lady Thief (Scarlet #2) and Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird #2)
by Maria V. Snyder, A.C. Gaughen and Claudia Gray

Sea Glass Cover Lady Thief Cover Ten Thousand Skies Above You Cover

I am part of the Finishing the Series challenge and I’ve let quite a few series pass by the wayside. I’ve started both of these this year and I keep meaning to continue them every month and I don’t do but this is it! I am going to do it! The first two books I’m going to try to read in the beginning of the month and the third I’m going to be reading with Abby from my book club. Gervan doesn’t want continue the series yet, so Abby and I are gonna fangirl all over that without him! haha

Goodreads Goodreads

Avalon #0.5, #1 and #2
Proxy, Avalon and Polaris
by Mindee Arnett

Proxy Cover  Avalon Cover  Polaris Cover

I haven’t heard of a lot of people reading this duology except for Lainey @ gingerreadslainey and Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes, both from Booktube. They have recommended this up and down and the premise is really interesting. It’s about a teenage crew of mercenaries who steal spaceships and then stumble upon a conspiracy theory. Doesn’t that sound awesome?! It kind of reminds me of Illuminae a little bit so I hope it’s good.

Goodreads

The Memory Key
by Liana Liu

The Memory Key Cover

This was one of my most anticipated books of last year but then there were some reviews that weren’t that glowing and so I kind of let it settle. But I was really intrigued by the premise and the cover caught my eye, so I want to give it a chance. Wish me luck!

Goodreads

The Darkest Minds #1, #1.5, #2, #2.5 and #3
The Darkest Minds, In Time, Never Fade, Sparks Rise and In the Afterlight
by Alexandra Bracken

The Darkest Minds Cover  In Time Cover  Never Fade Cover

Sparks Rise Cover  In the Afterlight Cover

There is no possible way to not try to read this trilogy. Alexandra Bracken is quite the popular author, not only because of her recent release, but a lot of people really enjoyed this series. However, I’ve heard negative thoughts about it as well so I am purposely going into it with as little knowledge as possible so I can take it at face value.

Goodreads

The Conspiracy of Us #1 and #2
The Conspiracy of Us and Map of Fates
by Maggie Hall

The Conspiracy of Us Cover  Map of Fates Cover

Again, I’m wanting to read a book because of Booktube recommends. Lainey recently read this and loved both books. I had my eye on the first book since it’s release last year but I never got around to reading it because I’m lame so I am hopeful that I’ll be able to read it now! I hope it’s good cause I really want to own these covers.

Goodreads

Plus One
by Elizabeth Fama

Plus One Cover

I only want to read this book because of the cover and I am not ashamed to say that. I hope this isn’t one of those books where the cover is better than the actual content because that would just break my heart completely. I mean look at it.

Goodreads

Taken #0.5, #1, #2 and #3
Stolen, Taken, Frozen and Forged
by Erin Bowman

Stolen Cover  Taken Cover  Frozen Cover

Forged Cover

Another set of books I want to read because of the covers. I am a hugeeee sucker for gradients in covers and these are pretty great in my opinion. I’ve heard a lot more about this author’s recent standalone than about this series but the premise sounds interesting and kind of like a mystery so I’m hopeful.

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! Again, I have a lot of other books on the actual list but I’m not going to share them all and bore you with them. PRETTY PLEASE let me know if you have read any of these books and your thoughts on them, I beg of you. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

10 thoughts on “April ’16 TBR – Dystopian Theme

  1. Wow, that’s a really ambitious TBR! But I am happy to be buddy reading with you 🙂 I always like having someone to freak out with. Let’s hope this book will be worthy.
    I am super curious about Wolf by Wolf – I seem to see it everywhere these days. And finally, I also hope you’ll enjoy Rebel Belle, I thought it was hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So many books that seem so good!!
    I have my Dystopia reading challenge that I really need to work on!
    I read The Darkest Minds a while ago and gave it 4/5 stars, enjoyed it but I hope the series gets better, but I still need to read the others.
    Good luck and have a great April!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

