T5W Apr. 13th – Books With “Hard” Topics

T5W Apr 13

Hello everyone!

This week I am back with Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Books with “Hard” Topics. By hard topics they mean mental health, illness, sexual assault, things of that nature and so I tried to pick books that didn’t have the same kind of issue so I can recommend more to you guys.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Just Listen
by Sarah Dessen

Just Listen Cover

This is the first book that I ever read by Sarah Dessen and I loved it. This books deals with two different kinds of hard topics: rape and anorexia. I feel like the way they’re talked about and worked through is hard but genuine. I really enjoyed the honesty in the portrayal and I kind of want to re-read this book soon.

#4: The Perks of Being a Wallflower
by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower Cover

If you haven’t read this book yet, you need to because it’s pretty great! I can’t really say what kind of hard topic this book talks about because I don’t want to spoil anybody but my favorite part about this book is the writing style.

#3: Everything, Everything
by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything Cover

I got an e-ARC of this book from NetGalley when it first came out and it was actually one of the first ARC reviews that I ever shared on this blog. I really enjoyed the writing style and the story. The illness talked about in this book is very unique and interesting and I never even knew it existed until this book. I really recommend it.

#2: Falling Into Place
by Amy Zhang

Falling Into Place Cover

I love this book! This was a debut last year that really blew me away. The hard topic is this book is suicide and how someone making an attempt affects the people around them. I loved the way the author chose to handle the subject and how the story was told. I’m also really excited to read her new book that just came out.

#1: Carry the Ocean
by Heidi Cullinan

Carry the Ocean Cover

This is a book I read as part of my monthly book club and I was really surprised with how much I loved it. It’s about two boys with two different sets of challenges who’ve fallen in love and are trying their best to be independent. One of the main topics in this book is depression and the stigma that comes from that, and I really enjoyed reading about that topic is a very positive yet honest way.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what your favorite books that deal with hard topics are. I think this is the kind of theme that needs to be more relevant in literature so I’d love to see some recs. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

9 thoughts on “T5W Apr. 13th – Books With “Hard” Topics

Leave a Reply

