T5W Apr. 20th – Books You’re Intimidated By

T5W Apr 20

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Books You’re Intimidated By and god there are so many. I’m mostly intimidated by books that are really big. I just can never really see myself sitting down and starting them or finishing them because they’re so long! I picked a few popular and not so popular books that almost make me want to pee my pants.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Wicked
by Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguie

Wicked Cover

So I bought this book when I was younger and it’s really short but extremely thick. It’s two books in one so at the time I swore it wouldn’t be that big of a deal to me. That was until I started it. The writing style is dense. Like A LOT. I had so much trouble understanding what was going on. It was actually quite painful. Since I have a problem with leaving book/series unfinished, I’ll probably give this a try again but I’m scared as hell.

#4: Any Book
by Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudice Cover

Honestly, classics in general overwhelm me and intimidate me but Jane Austen is so well loved by so many people, that it makes it even scarier. I’ve liked the movies I’ve seen of her adaptations but that really doesn’t mean much. I hope at some point I’ll be over my fear and be able to read some of her books.

#3: Harry Potter Series
by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Cover

I chose this book cover because this is the biggest book in the series but I’ve been super intimidated by this series my entire life. I only made the choice to start reading it this year and that is because of two things: the later books in the series are HUGE and the fandom is also HUGE. I was really scared (still am) that I won’t like these books as much as everyone else and people will shun me. (My cousins will disown me if I don’t)

#2: Mistborn Series
by Brandon Sanderson

The Final Empire Cover

I’ve heard so many amazing things about this series, from so many different people, but omg it’s so long! I talked about it but I’m so intimidated by long books. I want to read this because it sounds like something I’m really going to enjoy but I’m probably going to have to wait until I have it in my hands, no way am I reading it in ebook form.

#1: A Song of Ice and Fire
by George R.R. Martin

A Game of Thrones Cover

Not only are all the books in this series superrrr long, but the series itself is also quite long. It’s not even over yet!! I don’t know how the people who have actually started it feel, but the thought alone gives me anxiety. And I don’t really watch the tv show, I didn’t pick it up when it first came out since I didn’t have the channel, and now there’s so many season and so many dead people that I’ll probably never watch it.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what kind of books intimidate you and if you’ve read any of the books that intimidate me. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

28 thoughts on “T5W Apr. 20th – Books You’re Intimidated By

  1. Lol “Any book my Jane Austen”. I have a bind up of 4 of her books that I really want to read but I really don’t know where to start. I also put GoT on my list. Big series + big books = AHH. I’ve really wanted to read the Mistborn series because I hear so many great things about them.

    Danica @ A Redheaded Bookworm
    T5W

    Liked by 1 person

  2. haha I may have chuckled reading you thoughts on ASoIaF “So many dead people” you are soo right, and for every death you hear there are 3 more deaths in the books. This is one of my favorite series ever, is so complex, I honestly don’t know how George does it, he’s the master of Fantasy. I think it’s actually one of the reasons why I don’t read much YA fantasy, everything seems really dull in comparison 😦

    Liked by 1 person

      • hehe that’s actually the thing, it’s really hard to get attached to the characters because there so many awesome things going on, such a vast world, many new cultures, new languages, many stories to read, when you read it, it’s like you are fully involved, the series is about so many things and not just about the characters…ok sorry I got excited..

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

