Freadom Speaks About Original Content and Why It’s the Bane of My Existence

Freadom Speaks about Original Content

Hello everyone!

Welcome back to my discussion feature, Freadom Speaks!

I’m a little hesitant about this one mostly because it’s just me rambling about a specific topic that has been a struggle for me since I became a bigger part of the book community. Original content has eluded ever since I started my Booktube channel and I kind of wanted to talk about what that means to me and why it’s such a hard thing for me to accomplish.

SO let’s get started!

Back when I still had my Booktube channel, one of the hardest things for me to create was original content. In fact, I never had any at all. I just did the same kind of content that the majority of people were doing: memes, reviews, wrap ups and tbrs. But I always wanted to try and do more. That desire transferred over to my blog and since I started it, I’ve been on a quest to try and do things that no one else has done before.

BUT IT’S SO HARD!

Let’s be honest here, there are only so many things you can do with books. And most of them have already been done by someone else before. The majority of my features are variations of things that are common in the blogging community: recommendations, discussions (like this one) and a personal feature. My Looks on Books feature was inspired by two other bloggers and the only thing I did was change up the way my own post is structured. But that’s not enough for me. I want something that I can call my own, that sets my blog apart and makes it special. But it’s very hard to think of what that elusive thing could be.

I’ve thought of combining my different passions in life with my passions for books but I feel like they’re not the best of combinations. I love music, it’s a huge part of my life and while I have a feature with my friend Gervan that combines music in books, it’s a duo kind of thing. I thought about trying to do something else but there are so many people who have posts like this and I don’t really see a new angle that I can bring to it. I am a huge animal lover, I have a cat and a dog and wish I could have more, but is there a way to combine books and pets without it being completely weird? I don’t think so. Photography is also a love of mine but unfortunately, that’s kind of hard for me to do right now. My camera is indisposed and I don’t own a lot of physical books so even if I could come up with something, it wouldn’t be happening right now.

Recently Ari @ The Daydreaming Bookworm shared a post thanking about this topic in particular and I have to say that it made me very angry at the time, but I can’t help but think that she may be right! She talks about how originality doesn’t actually exist, that we are always influenced by the outside world and how it’s not about the idea, but about the execution and representation of it. This makes me so mad because part of me feels like it’s something to strive for and work hard for because it makes you kind of special and I am not ashamed to say that I want my blog to be more special than all the other special blogs haha. But at the same time, it’s probably such a hard thing to do because it may be impossible. Most books are variations of the same basic story, and most authors take it in and make it their own and add things and so on. So I kind of agree with Ari but don’t want to completely.

Cait @ Paper Fury also shared a post pertaining to this that highlights one of my biggest fears about original content: when do you know if your blog post is “inspired” or “copying”? If what Ari says is true and you can only be inspired by what’s already been done before, how do you keep it true to you? No one wants to be labeled as the copier or plagiarist, specially if  you’re not doing it on purpose. It’s always been one of my fears that I won’t correctly credit the person who inspired me on a post or a feature. The great thing is that she highlights some of the ways you can catch if you’re doing it or not! I’m definitely going to keep this post in mind if I ever feel inspired by a fellow book blogger.

I know this post is kind of all over the place but that’s also because I’m not really sure how I feel about this topic. I’m still going to be working on trying to be original. One of my resolutions for this year is to create a tag so maybe that’ll be my contribution into original content.

So that’s it for this discussion! Let me know your thoughts about this topic. I’m still on the fence and I would love to know what you guys think about this. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

28 thoughts on “Freadom Speaks About Original Content and Why It’s the Bane of My Existence

  1. I think the uniqueness of a blog comes from the person behind it. People will read your blog because they want to know what YOU have to say, what YOUR opinion is, and that is what’s original, you know? It could be the same kind of post some else does, but no one else will have your exact perspective on it, which makes your content original. Maybe creating a new kind of post or feature is impossible because, as you’ve said, someone else always seems to have done it before, but what you should focus on is on how your personality, opinion and views on things shines through. Keep on doing what you’re doing, it’s great 🙂
    (P.S. Hi from another Venezuelan! :D)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello fellow Latina(o)! How are you?! So nice that I now know two other Venezuelan English bloggers. Nice to meet you!
      Thanks so much for your kind words. I’m probably still going to try to find something new and original for my blog, but I hope that my personality shines through my writing either way and that people will want to follow me for that

      Like

      • I’m Esther 🙂 I’m actually not Latina, though born and raised in Venezuela. My family is all from Spain. But yesss, it’s so nice to find fellow Venezuelans obsessing over books.
        And that’s great, never stop looking for originality! You’ll sure find something 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s so sweet! Well, I’m actually just starting! The blog is actually “under construction”. I’m preparing posts, juggling with some ideas, and all of that. It’s so hard to start. How long have you been blogging? Any tips?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I started in August of last year and it’s been super fun! My biggest tip for anyone starting is to keep a consistent schedule and to be organized. No matter how many times you’re posting a week or even in a day, make sure you know what is going up when. Oh! And schedule your posts if you can, it’s a life saver!

        Like

  2. I have to agree with you, it’s REALLY HARD to make original content. I didn’t think that before but it’s really difficult. I think all bloggers want their blog to be special, and we have the same struggle.
    I feel like I’m in the same situation as you, trying to create original content. I have to agree saying that we are really influenced by others, does that mean that originality doesn’t exists? I’m not sure, maybe yes, maybe no, but it doesn’t hurt to keep thinking haha 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AHH I LOVE THIS POST. Like you, I too struggle with creating original content — not necessarily to make my blog ‘more special’ than all the others but more so that I’m offering something a bit different… which I guess means the same thing now that I’ve typed it all out! Oops.

    I haven’t read Ari’s discussion post yet (thanks for linking, it sounds interesting!) but I get your struggles about being original and differentiating between ‘inspired by’ and ‘copying’. It’s SO HARD to know the difference, sometimes, but personally I think it’s good to call out who you’re inspired by just to ensure that proper credit is given and you’re not copying without any nod to the original creator.

    That being said, however, my cynical mind believes that nothing is ever really original anymore (and this goes not just for blogs but also books, movies, ideas in general, etc.) — what you can do to make something original is to put your own twist to it. For my blog, this is definitely my Book Looks feature, which I started because I’m very much into clothes as well as books and I thought it’d be a good way to do it. When I researched it, however, it turns out other people have done it before, although at the time I started my blog I didn’t know that yet. So even my ‘original’ idea wasn’t that ‘original’ because other people have thought of it before! 😛

    I honestly don’t know where this comment is going HAHA. #sorrynotsorry But yeah, just saying that I get your struggles. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • So WordPress hasn’t been sending me all my comment notifications and I just saw this one my browser! I’m so glad I’m not the only out there that has this struggle. It makes me feel so much better. I totally understand that feeling when you create a post you think it’s new but no it’s not haha. I am so happy that we were able to connect through Book Looks and the inspiration you gave me to share my own! I’m still going to strive to do something new and interesting, just dont know when that will happen haha

      Like

      • Ahh it’s so weird because I actually posted this comment and then didn’t see anything on your page (not even the moderation comment), so I thought WP must have swallowed it up for some reason!

        Absolutely – I think at the end of the day, the key is to just have confidence in yourself and post what you want. Whether or not it’s ‘original’ in the strictest sense is probably secondary, haha. Good luck, though, and I’ll look forward to your posts regardless. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I completely suck at originality, so I can only agree with IT’S SO DARN HARD! The only feature that’s really me is my weekly trailer round-up and I’ve seen that on other blogs as well now, so yeah … there goes the originality of that …

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a wonderful post! I too struggle with this issue of originality, so you are no alone. I wouldn’t put so much pressure on yourself, your blog is wonderful and your personality shines through even if you feel like you are just doing what everyone else is doing…
    I’m sure you will come up with something… I would explore the music and books theme more… I think there is potential there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

